|Immediately after the crisis of the 1930’s and the 1939-45 World War, the International Ahmadiyya Jama’at entered a period of rapid expansion and spread to various parts of Nigeria.Contrary to the severe negative implications of internal strife of earlier period, during which there was the enormous dissipation of energy that what could have otherwise been harnessed for the progress of humanity.
Virtually no year passed without one or more new missions or mosques being established. Below are the missions established during that period.
MODAKEKE MISSION: 1947
The Modakeke mission was established 1947 through Alfa Yusuf Omope and the Alfa Tiamiyu of Ode-Omu Mission. The Imam of Ode-Omu Mission played a prominent pioneering role through his incessant visits to Modakeke to lead preaching activities. The outcome of his arduous efforts was impressive turn-outs of people with attendant converts. This,also later prompted the Missionary, Ahmadiyya Mission in Ile-Ife, Muallim A.G. Daramola to participate in vigorous preaching. All this gave Modakeke Mission a solid foundation and they weathered all opposition against Ahmadiyya teachings. Imam Oluwa was also a champion of Ahmadiyya crusade in Modakeke, affording the Jama’at his spiritual acument and ardous Islamic prowess.
The Jama’at used private residence for their prayers until 1955 when a piece of land was given to them by the Bamgbaye family. A temporary Mosque made of canopy was immediately erected. By 1968, a standard permanent mosque had been built through special sacrifices by the members. Muallim A.G. Daramola motivated the Jama’at towards the difficult sacrifice by his frequent visits and appeals.
The following are the pioneer members who played prominent roles in the establishment of Modakeke Mission: Alfa Yusuf Omope, Alfa Shittu Oladosu. Alfa Kasumu Ogundele of blessed memory, Alfa Ilyas Omope, Alfa Karimu Oladipupo, Alfa Salawu Fagbenro, Alfa Nasiru Arinola, Alfa Saliu Omope of blessed memory and Alfa Sanusi Omope.
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM JAMA’AT IVIEBUA 1947
Ahmadiyya Muslim Jamaat was introduced in Iviebua by a notable revivalist, Late Mallam A.K. Sado, a great heroe from Iviukhua through Mallam braimah Osigbemhe Eshemogie in 1947. The propagation of Ahmadiyya Muslim in Ivibua begins in the family of Eshemogie. The family were pagan (idols worshippers) at the early age. The issue of introducing Islam into the family begins when Mallam Braimah Osigbemeh Eshemogie came in contact with Halimatu Sado who was a Muslim. Mallam braimah was proposing Halimat for marriage before become a Muslim.
Late Mallam Sado argued that his sister will not got marriage to him until he converted to Muslim. He was convinced by Mallam A.K. Sado to accept Islam and he did as he was told by his inlaw A.K. Sado. He was initiated as an Ahmadis at that time. From then Late Mallam Braimah dedicated his life to God Almighty and do away with his unspeakable gods and serve God Almighty. In 1965 – 1970 he became versatile of the Holy Quran from Mallam A.K. Sado.
In 1951 Mallam Braimah converted his Brother Mallam Bello Eshemogie into the fold of Ahmadiyya Islam. He was trecking from Iviebua to Iviukhua in serch of our anic know from A.K. Sado. There was no electricity at that time and he was using a kerosene lamp. The journey from iviebua to iviukhua is 1km away. He was a Naib to Imam of the mosque through out his life time. He died at the age of 93.
Late Mallam Musah Udofe who was also another pagan get converted by Mallam A.K. Sado. He left the fold of Ahmadiyya when he was ill to a non-Ahmadis Muslims who gave him the treatment of the sickness. He came back to continued his mission in Ahmadiyya Jamaat again. He study the Holy Quran from mallam A.K. Sado. He was trecking from Iviabua to Ivinkhua 1km away in the night with the used of Kerosine lamp every night in searched of Quranic knowledge in 1954 – 1963. he was the Imam of Iviebua mosque in 1974 – 2006. He was called to the Glory of Allah Almighty in 2006.
Late Mallam Zibiri Omoba a pagan was also converted by Late Mallam A.K. Sado into the fold of Ahmadiyya in Iviebua. He was neither a Muslim nor Christian before he joined the members of Ahmadiyya Jamaat in iviebua. Mallam Zibiri was trecking 1km from iviebua to Ivinkhu every night with a kerosene lamp seeking Quranic knowledge from Mallam A.K. Sado. He was the treasurer of the Jamaat in 1985 – 1990.
At the time of the above heroes who were the pillar of the Ahmadiyya Jamat in Iviebua, the members of the Ansarullah were up to 20. Those members and their family were trecking from Iviebua to Iviukhua every Friday for Jumat service. This became a great stress for them, so Mallam A.K. Sado decided to established Jumat service for them in 1974 headed by Mullam Musah Udofe as the Imam of the msoqeu in Iviebua. Mallam Braimah Eshemogie as the naib to the Imam of the Mosque. Mallam Aliyu Udofe as the ladhan of the mosque. The Naib of the mosque died before the Imam in year 2000. Mallam Musah Udofe ruled as the Imam from 1974 – 2006 . Mallam Yusuf Zibiri is now the active Imam from 2000 till date.
Other prominent members were Mallam Habib Eshemogie ,Mallam Mohammed Agbebaku, Mallam Abdukadiri Omoba, Mallam Umani Aleonote, Mallam Zekeri Kasimu Mallam Habib Eshemogie.
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM JAMAAT IVIANOKPODI AGENEBODE, EDO STATE
Duced to Ivianokpodi before Ahmadiyya Muslim Jamaat was introduced to Iviaokpodi, autodors Muslim was already introduced to our community by one Mallam Ahmedu from Okpella in the year 1948.
In the year 1954, Ahmadiyya Muslim jamaat was introduced to our community by one Late Alhaji A.K. Sado from Iviaokpodi. In that year 1954, the first person to signed Baiat was Late Pa. Alhaji Abubakar Idinye, followed by Late Pa. Aliu Ithrotor. This Pa. Aliu Ithrotor was the first president to his Jamaat, while Late Mrs. Adishetu Idinye was the first Lajn President.
AGBEDE MISSION: 1948
AHMADIYYA was established in 1948 in Agbede (in the then Etsako Native Authority) by Alhaji M.M. Habeebu when he returned in December 1947 from training in Lagos under Alhaji Maulana Fazl Rahman Hakeem (r.a.)
Before this time, in early 1945, the then Amir Maulana Fazl Rahman Hakeem made another extensive tour of the then Western Nigeria and visited Agbede where he discussed vital points with the Chief Imam, the Oba and Chiefs and Ulama of the town. Among the points discussed was the training of a son of the soil in Islam and Arabic Studies.
After a competitive selection process, the young Muhammad Murtaza Habeebu was duly selected by the people of the town under the auspices of the Native Authority. Young M.M. Habeebu was then sent in November 1945 by Etsako Native Authority and partly financed by his father to study Islam and the Holy Quran under Alhaji Maulana F.R. Hakeem so that he might return to teach Agbede children in the schools.
Before he returned in 1947, he had accepted Ahmadiyyat and signed Baiat at the hand of Maulana F.R. Hakeem, with the written permission of the Chief Imam and Ulama of Agbede.
When he returned, he was appointed a teacher in the Native Authority School. He started preaching to the people at Agbede about the advent of the Promised Messiah and Mahdi (a.s.), Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad. Agbede people appreciated his knowledge of Islam, but greatly opposed him and said that Mahdi had not come.
One of the first persons to support Alhaji M.M. Habeebu and joined Ahmadiyyat was Alhaji A. Omoalukhe Enakhimio. He was an ex-service man employed as a teacher in the Native Authority School, Agbede. He said that he read booklets written by Maulana Muhammad Ali while he was serving as a soldier in the Middle East.
However, many young men, especially those of the age group of Alhaji M.M. Habeebu appreciated his teachings and accepted Baiat from him. Among the first to accept Ahmadiyyat through him were the following, Muhammad Mustafa Habeebu, Muhammad Rabiu Habeebu, Ismail Ibrahim, Rizwan Ali, Abdul Ali, Seibu Ali his (father’s student), Yusuf Audu, his colleague in the village, Abdus Salam Osifo and some members of the royal family, M.A. Momodu, M.S. Momodu, Sule Abdullahi and Abdul Aziz Haliru who later became the Northern States Circuit Chairman.
On one occasion in 1957, the people of Agbede went to Eko Habeeb to make Waleemah for a boy who had completed the reading of the Holy Qur’an (in Osifo’s family). On their way back home, some of them attacked and fought Habeebu’s family and broke their doors and windows. The Ahmadis sent some youths (Khuddam) through the bush to Ubiaja (about 16miles) to send a telegram to Maulana Naseem Saifi (the then Amir and Missionary In charge) reporting the attack. Maulana Naseem Saifi and Maulana Nasiru Deen Ahmad came to report the incident to the Disctrict Officer at Auchi.
The D.O. invited the Imam of Agbede and his colleagues and warned them against persecuting Ahmadis and denying people of freedom of religion. On another occasion, the non-Ahmadi Muslims planned to exterminate all Ahmadi Muslims in Eko Habeebu and warned strangers in Eko Habeebu to leave the town before a certain date. It happened that on the morning of their threatened march on Eko Habeebu, the uproar suddenly died.Pandemonium broke out in the Chief Imam’s house due to fire outbreak which engulf its house and spread to many houses.
At first Alhaji Muallim Habeebu (the father of Alhaji M.M. Habeebu) opposed his children for accepting Ahmadiyyat and even flogged them. But when he saw that Agbede people were persecuting his children, he stopped beating them and started supporting them. He eventually signed the Baiat during the Amirship of Maulana N. Ahmad. Eventually, every inhabitant of Eko Habeebu (Habeebu Village) accepted Ahmadiyyat. Eko Habeebu was renamed Eko Ahmadiyyat (meaning – Ahmadiyya village). Agbede Jama’at went about and preached Ahmadiyyat to the neighbouring towns and villages. Some people accepted Ahmadiyyat. These included Jagbe, Idegun, Ibore, Unogbo and Ugiabhole. In 1954 when Maulvi M.A. Saqi visited Agbede, he accompanied members of Agbede Jama’at to establish an organised Jama’at at Auchi. Agbede Jama’at also established Agenebode/Iviokhua Jama’at in 1954.
Agbede became the Headquarters of Ahmadiyyat for over 34years. During this period, Agbede was the seat of all the Central Missionaries sent to Bendel State (now Edo), among whom were Maulvi Sultan Ahmad, who was succeeded by Maulvi Azeez Ahmad Shah, who was also succeeded by Maulvi Muhammad Iqbal, followed by Maulvi Hamid Ahmad Zafar.
From 1948 – 1968 the whole Bendel (now Edo) Circuit was known and called Agbede Circuit.Between 1968 and 1969, Maulana F.I. Anweri divided Agbede Circuit into four Circuits, namely: Agbede, Benin, Auchi and Agenebode. In 1982, Maulvi H.A. Zafar moved the Headquarters from Agbede to Benin City.
In 1952, Alhaji Mallam Ibrahim Oyarebu who accepted Ahmadiyyat in Lagos in early thirties when he was working there returned home. He was an illiterate. He came to Agbede Jama’at and offered himself as a Missionary if Agbede Jama’at would be prepared to pay him some allowance.
Agbede asked him how he could be a Missionary, when he was an illiterate. He said that he would tell the people that Mahdi has come and in addition to that, distribute literatures, and that if people asked him questions, he would ask them to read the literatures or refer them to Alhaji M.M. Habeebu.
So Agbede Jama’at employed him and continued to pay his allowance until 1954 when Maulana N.M. Naseem Saifi the then Amir and Missionary Incharge Nigeria agreed that the Headquarters in Lagos would assume the responsibility of paying his allowances. He was thus appointed a full Missionary.
In 1954, when Maulana M.A. Saqi was sent to Agbede by Amir Naseem Saifi, because of the persecution of Ahmadis, Agbede Jama’at seized the opportunity to take him to Alhaji I. Oyarebu on the evening of that day. Maulana Saqi and members who accompanied him from Agbede including Alhaji Oyaberu held an open lecture at Auchi. Ten youths accepted Ahmadiyyat and signed the Baiat. That was the beginning of organised Ahmadiyya Jama’at in Auchi.
JAGBE MISSION: 1948
Since 1948, the Jama’at at Agbede town were going to preach and winning converts at Jagbe and the adjoining villages. There were four villages that constitute Jagbe, namely; Ikhua, Ihelame, Imiokono and Imiogia. Two families from Imiokono first accepted Ahmadiyyat, the true Islam. One of them was Brother Isa Enakhinio who accepted Ahmadiyya when he was living in Eko Habeebu and later moved to Imiokono.
The other was Chief Ayyuba Aire from Ihelame village. A student from Ikhua, by name Yusuf Abdullahi who was studying the Holy Qur’an at Eko Habeebu, under Alhaji M.M. Habeebu’s father also accepted Ahmadiyyat at Eko Habeebu. When he completed his studies and went back to Jagbe, he was appointed the Imam in-charge of the Villages of Jagbe.
Jagbe used to come to Eko Habeebu for the weekly Juma service for a few years when they built their own Central Mosque at Central Eko Jagbe, and Alhaji Yusuf Abdullah continued to be their Imam. Jagbe Jama’at has since then grown in size.
YARO MISSION: 1948
ALHAJI A.O. Muhammad accepted Ahmadiyya from Alhaji F.R. Hakeem (around 1945) in Lagos and converted some members of his family at Iyaro. Thus a small Jama’at was established there around 1948.
SABE MISSION: 1948
Bro. Musa from Sabe lived in Lagos during the time of Alhaji F.R. Hakeem and signed Baiat around 1945. He returned home to convert some of his town’s people, and established a small Jama’at there around 1948.
ILUOMOBA-EKITI MISSION: 1948
ALHAJI Abdul Malik Ibukun learnt of the establishment of Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at in both Ado-Ekiti and Igbemo-Ekit from Muallim A. J. J. Bada in July 1948. He sought further information about the Jama’at and as Muallim Bada had left Ado-Ekiti which he visited casually; Alhaji Ibukun could not sign the Baiat through him. But he was advised by Muallim Bada to meet the then Amir and Missionary Incharge of the Jama’at in Nigeria, Maulana Noor Muhammad Naseem Saifi in Lagos.
Then he complied with the advice and thereafter signed the Baiat at his hand. Apart from that , he stayed behind for a period of time to learn more about the teachings of Islam and the tenets of Ahmadiyyat.
At Iluomoba-Ekiti Mission, a mosque was established in 1956. Alhaji Abdul Malik Ibukun single handedly built a modern Mosque with a mission house for the Jama’at. Early converts included Abdul Hameed Ayeni, Zubair Ibianu, a native of Okene in Kwara State and indigene of Oyo State.
ADO-EKITI MISSION: 1948
MUALLIM A J J Bada was appointed as Ahmadiyya Missionary in January 1948 after training under Maulana F.R. Hakeem. His first posting took him to Ondo town but being a native of Ado-Ekiti, he addressed invitation letters to many of his relations back home. His younger brother Yusuf Olanipekun paid him a visit and after some discussion on Ahmadiyyat, he signed the Baiat. He thus became the first Ahmadi Muslim based in Ado-ekiti through whom Ahmadiyya was introduced into Ado-Ekiti.
On July 4, 1948 Muallim A.J.J. Bada went to Ado-Ekiti on preaching activities and won ten converts among whom was Alfa Jimoh Adewunmi. The Jama’at at this juncture acquired a room belonging to Alfa Dabi Bello Ajileye along Ejigbo Street for congregational prayers. In 1954, the Jama’at acquired a piece of land at Ijiku Street where the first Mosque was built.
The Mosque had to be abandoned because it was waterlogged although there was still a plan to profitably utilize the plot. Another plot was later acquired and the foundation stone for a standard Mosque was laid on January 26, 1964. The Mosque which was under construction, for a decade was completed during the tenure of Maulana M.A. Shahid in November 1974. The Mosque has a Mission House, conference centre and other facilities. A bookshop was also built by Alhaji Alli Adebayo as an attachment to the Mosque complex.
As a result of vigorous preaching activities, Ado-Ekiti Mission founded other Missions in the neighbouring areas including Erijiyan, Igbemo, Iluomoba, Ifaki, Ijurin, Ilawe, Iworoko, Ipoti, Ikere, Emure and Iyin-Ekiti.
Much earlier on around 1954, a Quranic and Arabic class had been established and had produced highly learned scholars including Maulvi A.J. Giwa, Muallim N.O. Bada and many others.
Ado-Ekiti Mission is the nerve centre for all the Missions in Ondo State being the Headquarters of the Ekiti/Akoko Circuit. The first and second Chairman of the Circuit came from Ado-Ekiti and they were Alhajis Alli Adebayo and A.A.K. Adeyemo respectively. The first Chairman and General Secretary of the Mission were respectively brothers Uthman Oladimeji and Alhaji Alli Adebayo. As at 1989, the Chairman and General Secretary are Alfa Jimoh Giwa and Brother Tijani Oladipo respectively.
IWO MISSION 1949
AHMADIYYA Muslim mission Iwo was established in 1949 by Late Pa Mofolorunso Adiat Sanni. Pa Sanni was a Civil Servant, he used to come home on leave to Iwo and he preached Islam and Ahmadiyyat to all nook and cranny of the town until he retired in 1948. In 1949,he finally settled at Iwo, his hometown, and this gave him the opportunity to put the Jama’at on sound footing.
He built a Mosque in 1950 which is the only Mosque owned by the Jama’at Idiomo till to date. The same year a Missionary was posted to the Mission in the person of Alfa Ibrahim Kazeem.
The then Amir, Maulana N.M. Saifi used to visit Iwo constantly to give public lectures before he left Nigeria in 1964, the first convert was late Brother Salami a native of Iwo . Pa Sani also died on 2nd October 1975.
Alfa Ameen from Ede, Alfa Abdul Ghaniyu later of Zaria Mission,Alfa Ghazali a native of Iwo later at Ibadan and Alhaji S.D.A. Ahmad of Ibadan were among the Missionaries who worked at Iwo Mission during the life time of Pa. Sanni.
After the death of Pa Sanni the following missionaries were also served at Iwo within 1979 and 1980.
OWODE- EGBADO MISSION: 1950
Ahmadiyya was introduced into Owode Egbado in 1950 through Mr. Abdul Rahman Ikumapayi, a native of Joga- Orile who was based in Ilaro where he accepted Ahmadiyyat. He introduced the Jama’at to Fasasi Akinlade who thus became the first resident Ahmadi in the town.
Through intensive preaching activities some converts were won from Irogun Alagbon whose names were Aliu Kareem, Tijani Opayemi and Jimoh. Another notable convert was Alfa Yusuf Raji, who studied Arabic in Sudan signed the Baiat in 1968 and instituted a Quranic and Islamic class for men and children of the Jama’at.
In 1971, a plot of land was acquired for Mosque construction to serve the expanding community. Through regular preaching activities usually attended by Alhaji M.A. Salman from Ilaro and late Alfa S.O. Quadri, coupled with several debates, many converts were won consequent upon which it became expedient to reconstruct the mosque in 1982.
This Jama’at was responsible for founding three other Missions in the nearby villages at Ajilete, Oke-Odan and Owo.
AGEGE MISSION: 1950
IN 1950, Alhaji A.K.S. Adalemo came from Ota to settle down in Agege. He had already joined the Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at in 1935 through Alfa Salih Bello. Among those who came with him were his wife Falilat and his children Mufutau and Nurudeen Adalemo.
On arrival at Agege, Alhaji Adalemo’s main activity was preaching all over Agege. Before that time, there was an Ahmadi at Agege in the person of Mr. L.A.O. Balogun, the then Manager of National bank, Agege branch, later the Imam of Ibadan Mission, who had contact with Maulvi N.M. Saifi, the then Amr. In 1951, Mr. Abdul Rafiu Odukoya, Secretary to Alhaji Adalemo also came from Ota and signed the Baiat.
In 1952, Maulvi Naseem Saifi came to Agege at the instance of Alhaji L.A.O. Balogun and Alhaji Adalemo to formally inaugurate the Ahmadiyya Jama’at. Among the pioneer members of the Jama’at were Mallam Garuba, Brothers Rafiu Odukoya, Ayoola and the family members of Balogun, Adalemo and others.
The first Jumah prayer led by Maulvi Naseem Saifi was performed in Alhaji Adalemo’s place at Adebari Street, Atobaje, and Agege. The Jama’at encountered a lot of persecution and bitterness initially from Non Ahmadi Muslims and Christian preachers. It happened that they were stoned in one their preaching expeditions and Alhaji Adalemo’s clothes were torn to shreds. But the Jama’at prevailed on the basis of their authoritative arguments which convinced some of the non-Ahmadi Muslim leaders.
Before they had a permanent Mosque/Mission house, a shop was rented and used as Mosque and Arabic/Islamic class. In 1953, the first Mosque was built of mat, and later with mud. In 1977, they started the construction of a two-storey Central Mosque which was completed and opened in 1978 by Maulana Muhammad Ajmal Shahid, the then Amir. One of the pioneer members and an early Chairman who gave strong moral and financial support to the Jama’at was the late Alhaji Surakatu Falola who unfortunately left the Jama’at before his death due to personality clashes.
PALM-GROVE MISSION: 1950
Palm Grove branch was established in 1950 by Pa Tahir Seedy. Before this period, Pa Seedy had been a staunch member of the Jama’at in Mushin which explained the later attachment of the Palm Grove Mission with Mushin.
In 1964, Brother Ali Ishola Yusuf, a prominent young Ahmadi moved to the locality and contributed immensely to the running of Quranic and Arabic class for the youths This brought in many young men including Brother Abdul Hakeem A. Fola Adeoshun who joined the Jama’at in 1965 from Ilaro.
Among prominent elderly Ahmadis was Brother B.O. Rabiu (of blessed memory) who later succeeded Brother A.I. Yusuf as the Imam of the Jama’at.
Pa Tahir Seedy donated the space of land behind his house which was built with planks as temporary Mosque. The Jama’at continued to observe the Juma’at Prayer at Mushin Mosque. The plank Mosque was demolished and rebuilt with concrete blocks in 1984. In January 1986 it was made into a full-fledged Mission capable of organising Jumah Prayers separately from Mushin Mission.
Others staunch members are Brothers R.A. Sanni, R.A. Adisa, M.M. Shittu , M.T.A. Adeleke , M. Tayo Akinyemi , Pa Qadri ( then caretaker of the Mosque), Bro. I.F. Ajijola, Bro. M. Oranlola, Bros. Ajijola and S.O. Ahmed (now Dr. Ahmed Sowemimo) and a host of others, including Mrs. Seedy (wife of Pa Tahir Seedy).
BENIN CITY MISSION: 1951
There were some Ahmadi Muslims in Benin City in the 1940’s but were members of the Jubril Martins group of Ahmadi Muslim, known as Ahmadiyya Movement in Islam, Nigeria. Their recognition had been withdrawn by the Khalifa (The Supreme Head of the Worldwide Ahmadiyya) since 1940 because they were disobedient to the Representative of the Khalifa, (Amir) in person of Maulvi Fazl Rahman Hakeem, refusing to recognise him as their Imam.
Some Ahmadi Muslims eventually discovered that they were in the wrong camp. Among them were Bros. Abdur Razak Adesina Bakare, Kasumu Okunola, Sadi Banjo, a born Ahmadi son of the late Sadiq Banjo of Epe, Alhaji Abdul Hameed Aregbe and late Bro. Tijani. These brothers broke away in 1952 from the Movement because of some alledged misconducts of its leadership.
The members that year got in touch with the National headquarters of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission, at 45, Idumagbo Avenue, Lagos through two Missionaries who happened to be on a missionary tour of Benin Province at that time.
The two missionaries, Maulvi Mohammad Afzal Qureshi (Pakistani) and Pa Alhaji Abdul Wahab Elias (Nigerian) were posted to the area in June 1951. The above- mentioned brothers from the Movement immediately joined the Ahmadiyya Mission. The Missionaries participated in an open air lecture organised in the heart of Benin City, near to the Oba’s Palace.
The barbing saloon of Brother K.O.S. Banjo, located in Chief Obasuyi’s house on Mission Road, served as their place of worship since June 1951. Other private houses were also used, among which was that of Muhammad Ashraf Habeebu, a printer on Lagos Road, Benin City. Other early converts were Brother Saibu Aluede and Lamidi Balogun.
The building of the first Ahmadiyya Mosque started in 1977, completed and officially opened in 1979. It is located at No. 36, 1st Freedom road, Ogbe Stadium. The first Mission house was also opened on Friday, March 12, 1982. On that day, Maulvi H.A. Zafar, Missionary of Bendel State (now Edo), shifted the Bendel headquarters from Agbede to Benin City.
The folloing were some of the staunch members Alhaji K.O.S. Banjo, Brother Olu Royal, Dr. Imarenozor , Brother Abdul Fatai, Brother Y.K. Haruna, a Missionary.
IMIOKONO JAMAAT 1951
Imiokono mission was established in 1951. It should be known that Imiokono is a village in Jagbe clan. It was during frequent preaching carried out there by some embers of Eko Habeeb Ulamas i.e. Mallam M.R. Habeeb, Alhaji M.M. Ibrahim, Alhaji Rizwan Ali, Suleman Osifo. After some time some of them signed Baiat.
It so happened that a team of Ahmadiyya Muslims came to Eko Habeen saying that they were going to preach at Imiokono that they came from Lagos. Not knowing that they were not from Ahmadiyya Misison Lagos, that they were from Ahmadiyya Movement. More than 30 members signed Baiat from their hands.
Later we learnt that they were not from the original Ahmadiyya Mission. Those who were real Ahmadis are Mallam Zubair Suleman who was learning Quran in Eko Habeeb and Qassim Muhamad and few others. They built their separate mosque which they are now using.
ABEOKUTA MISSION: 1952
Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at was fully established in Abeokuta in 1952, with the following as pioneer members: late Pa Bello Badmus, Alfa Teslim Elias, Alfa H.O. Ajakaiye, late Alfa Mudasiru Ajakaiye, Alfa Ashimiyu Ilori, late Pa Kasumu Odefara, late Nurudin Yusuf, Alfa Baid Lawal and Alhaji S.A. Akinbola. As at that time, sitting rooms and shops of members served as Mosques. Alhaji A.H. Sanni, the then Imam joined the Jama’at in 1954 thereby increasing the strength of the Jamaat to ten.
A plot of land was bought with the help of late President, Alhaji A.A. Abiola of blessed memory in 1965, and a small Mosque was built with thatched roof. It was later rebuilt with corrugated iron sheets. Being the only Mosque then, it served also as the Mission’s Central Mosque for Jumat service until 1973 when the foundation stone of the present mosque was laid. Since then the Jama’at had been increasing steadily until Ogun State was created and some members were transferred to Abeokuta from old western state.
Among the notable members of the executive committee of the mission were : Alhaji G.O. Rufai, Alhaji A.H. Sanni – Imam, Bro. R.A. Lawal, Bros. M.B. Odukoya , M.A.A. Ibrahim, Bros. M.T. Onabanjo, N.A. Sorunke, W.A. Bamgbopa, S.A. Ogungbade and Bro. L.A. Ajakaiye.
For easy administration, Abeokuta was divided into eight zones. These were Iberekodo, Ago-Ika, Lafiaji, Isabo, Idiaba, Erunwon/Ake, Olomore and Onikolobo.Only four of the zones had permanent Mosque,namely were Iberekodo, Ago-Ika, Olomore and Ake.
The piece of land upon which the Ago-Ika mosque was built was donated by the Aloba/Ileru family of Ago-Ika, Abeokuta. They were non-Ahmadis. In view of the small numerical strength of the members in the area, general donations, both in cash and kind were sort for, and with the financial and moral assistance from the Abeokuta Mission Secretariat, the foundation of the mosque was laid in May 1980 and the building was completed in December of that same year. At the inception of the zone, only five notable members were in the area. They were Alhaji A. A. Makinde, Alhaji R. A. Akindipo, Bros. I. Soetan and S. Bolaji.
Olomore Mosque was solely built by an Ahmadi brother, Bro. Asimiyu Famuyiwa in 1983 and donated it to the Ahmadiyya Jama’at, Abeokuta. The Mosque which had been in use since then serves Ahmadi and non-Ahmadi Muslims in the area.
The piece of land on which the mosque was built was donated by Pa Sadiku in 1987. He was then a non-Ahmadi. The Mosque was built through wakar-amal (voluntary manual labour) and was completed within four weeks. It now serves all members in the area.
IDEGUN MISSION: 1952
This is one of the other small Jama’ats established in Bendel State and others. In 1952 when Alhaji M.M. Habeebu was transferred to Idegun as a teacher, some teachers among whom were Mr. A.A. Oseni, A.O. Audu, M.A. Sule, S.E. Zibiri and D.O. Oarhe signed Baiat. Some pupils also signed the Baiat and a Jama’at was established there.
IBHOLE MISSION: 1953
IN 1953, Agbede Jama’at opened a Mission at Ibhole, where they had been going for preacing regularly. Ibhole is about 7 kilometers from Agbede.
SHOMOLU MISSION: 1954
Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission Shomolu was founded by Alfa Sheikh Muhammad Alao Abdul-Qadir as a result of his movement from 16 Glover Street, Ebute-Metta, to his new house on Humuani Street, Shomolu.
The family of the Late Shaikh Muhammad Abdul-Qadir thus became the first Ahmadi members in Shomolu. He completed the Ahmadiyya Mosque attached to his building in 1956, and this gave birth to the first Ahmadiyya Mosque in Shomolu Local Government Area. Regular prayers were observed in the Mosque and open air lectures were held regularly in front of the mosque.
Early converts into the fold of Ahmadiyya were as follows: Bros. A. A. Taose, B. I. Yunus, K. Lasisi, R. Oladele, N. Bello, A. Oke, Alhaji K. Olarewaju and Bro. A. R. A. Dawodu who had been his student (Sheikh Qadri) from Ebute-Metta, where he conducted Arabic and Quranic Classes for the children of the Jama’at.
Alhaji Abdul Qadir Adeniran Motajo had then been coming to Shomolu early in the 60’s and praying regularly with the Jamaat in the area, before the death of the Imam. Bro. A. A. Taose became the Imam and Chairman of Shomolu Mission after the death of the late Imam in 1966. Alhaji A. Q. A. Motajo later became the Imam and Chairman in 1967, while Bro. B. I. Yunus was the Secretary.
The first Jumat service was held on the 20th August, 1967. Imam A. Q. A. Motajo had been a moving force of Shomolu Mission. The new Central Mosque on church street Bashua Shomolu started in 1976. Regular Jama’at activities had since started in the Mosque.
The first Fazli-Omar Islamic Nursery School in the country was inaugurated in January 1988 at Shomolu Mission under the guidance of Dr. M. A. Fashola (Co-ordinator) and Bro. M. B. A. Qadir (Treasurer/Accountant).
The children got the blessings of Hazrat Mirza Tahir Ahmad, Khalifatul Massih IV during his visit to Nigeria in February 1988.
AUCHI MISSION: 1954
The origin of Ahmadiyyat in Auchi date back to the 1930’s but no regular Jama’at or Mission was established until much later. Some Auchi people living and working in Lagos signed the Baiat in Lagos in the early 1930’s. Among them were Alhaji Ibrahim Oyarebu, Alhaji U. O. Umor and Alhaji J. M. Jimba.
They were all in Lagos and therefore could not establish Ahmadiyyat in Auchi. Maulana F. R. Hakeem of blessed memory had also been visiting Auchi and other areas in the then Bendel, now Edo State. In consequence of this, Bro. A. E. A. Momoh was sent by the Otaru of Auchi to study Islam and Arabic under Alhaji Maulana F. R. Hakeem.
He returned to Auchi in 1945 after accepting Ahmadiyyat. He was appointed as a teacher at Native Authority School the South-Ibie. No regular Jama’at was established until November 1954. In 1954 a group of Ahmadis from Agbede followed Maulana M. A. Saqi to Auchi to visit Mallam I. Oyarebu. There, they held a public lecture through which some youths signed the Baiat. They were organised into a Jama’at and officers were elected.
Mallam Oyarebu had dedicated himself at Agbede Mission as Missionary. The Ahmadiyya headquarters in Lagos became responsible for his allowances. Mallam Oyarebu continued his Missionary activities and with his efforts many more people accepted Ahmadiyyat. During the Imarat of Maulana M. A. Shahid a Nusrat Jehan Hospital was approved for Auchi. Though the hospital building had been completed, normal medical operations never took for some reasons.Efforts are on to resusictate the hospital.
IVBIOKHUA (AGENEBODE) MISSION: 1954
Mallam Oyarebu was touring all over Afemai and Ishan Divisions for preaching in 1954, when he met a community at Ivbiokhua, Agenebode. They were interested in the message of Ahmadiyya. According to Mallam Oyarebu their Chief, Mallam A. K. Istadar, had lived in Northern Nigeria before and had contact with Maulana Fazl Rahman Hakeem in the North, but had since lost contact with him. Alhaji M. M. Habeebu led a group of Ahmadis from Agbede town accompanied by Mallam Oyarebu on bicycles on a preaching expedition to Ivbiokhua in Agbenebode and they stayed there for three days. Alhaji Istadar invited many people from the adjoining villages. During their stay, 63 persons signed the Baiat . Since then, Agbede Jama’at used to send Ahmadi members to visit the place to preach and teach them Islamic rules, ethics and Ahmadiyya traditions. For many years they attended annual zonal conferences at Agbede town, until the conference is rotated from town to town. The Jama’at at Ivbiokhua and the neighbouring villages had grown very rapidly in number. The then Amir Maulvi Naseem M. Saifi was so pleased with the report of their activities, that he sent 40 pounds in aid of Ivbiokhua Mosque building.
Islam was already in Iviukhua before the return of Alhaji Mallam A.K. Itsado in 1949. He started to teach them Ahmadiyya be teaching them how to fold hands before he made them to know that Mahdi has come that the Name of the follwers is Ahmadiyya.
This Mallam A.K. Itsador (Istadar) was one of the first batch of Missionaries trained by Maulvi F.R. Hakeem including the late Oyatebu of Audu.
Amongst the first people to sign the baiat fom him are, (1) Late Pa. Momoh Damia Ajaike Akpeokha (2) Mallam Aliu Emozozo (3) Mallam Momodu Akluigbe Emozozo (Late) (4) Pa. Shuaiba Ogedengbe Izimafor and (5) Alhaji Chief Sule Osimokha Izuagbe. Izuagbe was a Road Oversear and Late Ukpi Drummer Read of the village. With this two post combine he was able to win more converts to Ahmadiyya and the even used his daughers to convert many people by marriage. Through him Ahmadiyya gained much strength in Iviukhua.
The Late Oyattebu was a frequent visitor to Mallam. A.K. Itsado. Through Oyattebu an Invitation was sent to Agbede Jamaat to pay a preaching visit (now Tabligh) in 1954.
This visit and their enlightenment attracted many Baiats in 1954. Since then they started to attend the state annual conference at Agbede before Rotating it. When Maulvi Anweri learnt that there are so many Ahmadi Muslims in Ivuikhua and are in need of Mosque and requested for help he sent them £40.00.
The Late Mallam A.K. Itsado (Istadar) Established so many Jamaat in AGBENEBODE now known as AGBENEBODE ZONE. The include (1) Iviukhua, (2) Iviukwer (3) Ivianokpodi (4) Ivicbua (5) iviegbepui (6) Iviogbe (9) Igiode (8) Emokhuembe.
The first Zonal President was the Late Pa. Momoh Dania Aziake Akpeokha while Mallam Alhajai A.K. itsado was the 2nd zonal president.
Since then Iviukhua Jamaat the Headquarter of Agenebode zone has since maintaind their leadership position earlier. In 2007 Maulvi Muhammad Hakran established a Jamaat at Ikperi in IBIE, Iviukhua have been teaching and leading them in prayer and even looking after their welfare.
IVIUKWE MISSION 1954THE ORIGIN OF AHMADIYYA IN IVIUKWE
- Ahmadiyya originated in Iviukwe in the year 1954.
- Alhaji Momo Bello Osikwemhe, Mallam Sule Okhuofu and Mallam Ismaila Ihegbhekhai were the first prople to accept Islam Ahmadiyya in Ivinkwe.
- They were practicing another Islam starting from the year 1940. They build a little mosque roofed with grass were they say their prayers as at early 40.
- IN the year 1943 Late Mallam Sule Okhuofu went to Ivinkhua for a visit to his familiy in law and during the visit he met many Muslims at Ivinkhua he returned home and tell the rest two people Alhaji Momo Bello Osikwemhe and Mallam Ismaila Ithegbekhai that Muslim are many at Ivinkhua.
- The nest day three of them went to Ivikhua Late Mallam Sule Okhuofu and Late Mallam Ismaila Ithegbekhuai and Alhaji Momo Bello Osikwemhe and they actually met a big croud of Muslim at Iviukhua Mosque, since then they continue to to to Iviikhua every Friday for Jumah prayers.
- One day Alhaji Oyarebu a native of Auchi visited Iviukwe Mosque, he told them that Agbede Muslim will visit Mallam Istada at Ivinkhua tomorrow Friday, on that Friday the three men Alhaji Momo Bello Osikwemhe and late Mallam Sule Okhuofu and Mallam Ismail Ithegbekhai went to Iviukwhua and they actually meet Alhaji Oyarebu and many other Muslim from Agbede and Mallam Istada on a preaching programme.
- A few days latter the three men from vinkwe Alhaji Momo Bello Osikwemhe and Late Mallam Sule Okhuofu and Late Mallam Ismail Ithegbekhai went to Ivinkhua and meet Mallam Istada. Here Mallam Istada gave Baiat to three of them at the same timein the year 1954.
- After signing Baiat Mallam Istada instructed them to always come to his place at ivinkhua for Quran lesson.
- Ivikhua is about 3 miles away from Iviukwe. This three men use to light up their lamps in the evening and go to Ivinkhua for and other Islam Lessons.
- After graduating from Quran and other lessons in Islam – Alhaji Momo Bello Osikwemhe was made the first Imam of Ivinkwe Misison and Late Mallam ismaila the Ithegbekuai was the Muazim and Late Mallam Sule Okhuofu was made the first Ivinkwe Jamaat President.
- In the year 1954 Late Mallam Sule Okunofu gave birth to a male child and Akikat was done immediately and many people attended the Akikat. Be the first Akikat done in Ivinkwe various lectures were delivered by Mallam Istada at the present of the Muslims and non Muslims he announced to them that the childs name is Haruna.
- This Akikat and the lectures given attracted the non Muslim in which many people were converted into Islam Ahmadiyya in ivinkwe within a short period. Among the first people converted was Mallam Abudukadiri Ughoke, Late mallam Kadiri Ithegbekhai, bro. Hassan Egieuha Mallam Musa Osikwemhe, Late Mallam Saliu Amegbe, Chief Musa Ugia, Chief Braimah Isedu, Alhaji Braima Kamabe, Chief Idris Kamabe and Chief Musa Akwemho e.t.c.
This above named mission is gradually progressing that as at now the Ansarullah is about 60 in numbers while the Lajna is about 80 in numbers and the Khuddams 40 and Atfal is 30, and Nasrat 48.
This mission has long build a mission house which is use by the Ahmadiyya Misisoanry posted to them at Ivnikwe. They have build two little mosque and was conjested and destroyed and now building an upstairs at hand which is get to be completed.
IPOKIA MISSION: 1954
The establishment of Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission, Ipokia came took place through Alhaji Abdul Karimu Maliki. After retiring from the Nigeria Army in Ibadan in 1930’s, Alhaji Maliki stayed a short while in Ibadan during which he joined the Ahmadiyya Community in Ibadan. He then returned to his home town in 1953 to establish the Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission. His father, late Pa Maliki, happened to be the Chief Imam of the orthodox Muslims but did not oppose his son’s ideas.
The pioneer members who,by 1954, had accepted Ahmadiyyat through Alhaji A. K. A. Maliki included Alhaji Lawal Ojo and Alhaji Tiamiyu Aliyu who were trained in Quranic knowledge by him. Other early members include Alfa Ramonu Ojo, the family of Alhaji Lawal Ojo, Alhaji Najimu Sadiq, Alfa Ibraheem Sule and Alfa Abu Sadiq.
A piece of land was acquired in 1956 for Mosque building purpose with the support of late Chief Karimu Adeoye Oshunbiyi then Chairman of the defunct Ipokia District Council. A temporary Mosque was built on the land. By 1961, a permanent Mosque was built. The foundation stone was laid by Ilaro Jama’at. The old mosque gave way to a new storey building mosque, the foundation stone of which was laid by the then Amir Maulana M. A. Shahid on May 11, 1980. This new mosque was graciously commissioned by Hazrat Kahlifatul Masih V, during his visit to Nigeria for the centenary Khilafat Celebration in 2008
IJESHATEDO MISSION: 1958
Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at Ijeshatedo in Lagos State was first established in 1958 through late Alhaji Imam Abdul Ghaffar Thanni. Alhaji A. G. Thanni was born in Ijeshatedo to the then Chief Imam of the Ijeshatedo Central Mosque. His father founded the first Mosque and became the first Imam of the town.
Late Alhaji A. G. Thanni joined Ahmadiyya during the tenure of the Amir Maulana F. R. Hakeem. Like his father, he also became the leader and Imam of the whole of the Muslim Community in the town.
Other pioneers who joined Ahmadiyyat were Alfa Hassan Agunbiade, late Baale of Ijeshatedo, Alhaji Abdul Kareem Ogunlana the current Baale of the town, Alhaji Abdul Majeed Irorun, the Chief Imam of Ijeshatedo Central Mosque, Alhaji Abdul Rasheed Aguntasolo and Alhaji Adamo Sunmola.
Among the early missionaries who visited the Mission were Maulvi M. B. Shad, Amir Maulana N. D. Ahmad, late Alhaji B. B. Balogun, late Alfa Hashim, A. Ibraheem and Muallim Z. A. Junaid.
The new Jama’at came into being in 1976 with the following members as pioneers: Bros. Abdur Rahman Raji, Tijani Raji, Uthman Bakare, late Bro. Abdul Ganiyu Lawal, Bros. Uthman Shaafi, Mustafis Ajani Abaniwonda and Bro. Zakariyau A. Junaid. Other members, old and new, who migrated to Ijeshatedo and joined the new Jama’at, included Alhaji Abdur-Razaq Ayilara, Bros. Shamsudeen Fakayode, Semiu Azeez, Mashood Omotoye, Sulaiman Yusuf, Ahmed Yakub and Bro. A. Qadr Yakub, among others.
One half plot of land was donated to the Jama’at by Bro. Z. A. Junaid. A two-storey building’s mosque planned for the area has reached an advanced stage.
AYETORO-EGBADO MISSION (OGUN STATE): 1960
It is believed that Bro. Abdullahi Adeniyi Idowu of Saala Quarters, Ayetoro-Egbado introduced Ahmadiyya to the town in 1960. Bro. Idowu had himself accepted Ahmadiyya in Ilaro through Brother Abdur-Rahman Ikumapayi.
It appears that a solid foundation for Ayetoro-Egbado Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission was not laid until 1966 when a sizeable number of converts had been won. Bro. A. A. Idowu was joined by another indigene of Ayetoro, Alfa Hassan Olateju. The two were connected by Ilaro Jama’at, and the two renewed their Baiats in 1966 in Ilaro.
As a result of preaching activities, others joined them. By 1967, the pioneer members included Bros. Bello Olaifa, Yekinni Akinbitan, Salami Taiwo, Abdur-Rahman Balogun, Yinusa Taiwo, and Kilani Ayoola.
The first Ahmadiyya mosque in the town was built at Saala Quarters (Ayetoro) in 1968 through communal effort. The mosque has been rebuilt using corrugated sheets while four other mosques had been built. The site of the Central Mosque which was under construction had been blessed during the visit of the fourth Khalifa (a.t.b.a.).
Surrounding villages such as Obada, Afon, Saala, Orile and Owode- Afon had joined the Jama’at and had started or completed the construction of their respective mosques.
Some opposition came from the orthodox Muslims who dragged Ayetoro Jama’at to the Oba’s Palace. With the intervention of Ilaro Jama’at, the opposition could not deter the Ayetoro Jama’at in their march forward.
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM JAMA’AT, KAFANCHAN 1960
Kafanchan is said to be the real central of the nation and largest town in the Southern part of Kaduna State. It is the headquarters of Jamaar Local Government Kaduna State and the seat of the Emirate Council for the area. It also has one of the four biggest junctions and workshop stations for Nigerian Railway Corporation (N.R.C.).
The entry of a divine Jama’at such as Ahmadiyya into such a significance town, should therefore, be of monumental significance. For, it also marked another very important milestone in the spiritual journey of the town and its environ.
Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at, enter Kafanchan in 1960 through the efforts of some Nigerian Railways workers and good neighborliness of Kano and Kaduna Jama’at respectively. Some of railway workers posted to Kafanchan were Ahmadis. They held their first meeting on 1st December 1960 by 5:00 P.M. at Ibrahim Oladapo house.
The house served as their meeting and learning centre for three months before they rented a house at No. 24 Jama’at street Kafanchan.
The following are the name of the pioneer members: Mr. Ibrahim Oladapo, Mr. J.A. Sedenu, Alhaji Gbafe, Mr. W.A. Okeleye, Mr. R. Sanyaolu, Mr. K. Jinadu, Mr. S.K. Shekoni, Mr. R.O. Awoyale, Mr. Ikulayo and Mr. I.O. Soroye.
From the outset, they made their presence and activites known to Lagos- National headquarters of the Jama’at,Kano and Jos Jama’at respectively. At that very month one pounds and eighteen hillings was sent to Lagos via Kano as their Chand Aam- monthly contributions.
Towards the end of Febuary 1961, Maulvi M.B. Shad from Kano, paid the new Jama’at a working visit.Apart from regular meetings and Quranic/Islamic classes among members, they also engaged in extensive preaching activities within the town.
Alhaji M.A. Gbafe and Mr. R. Sanyaolu were their preachers. Sometimes they invited Maulvi M.B. Shad from Kano or Alhaji Ojoye from Jos for public preachings.
The first Eidul-fitr was performed on Saturday 18 March, 1961 led by Alhaji Ojoye from Jos.
Some of the significant others that embranced the Jama’at then, were: M. Isa Muhammad (Magaji Garin Jamaa – later the Emir of Jamaar) Mr. Abu Mohammed (N.A.) S/P Sch. Jamaa) Mallam Bawa Auta (Federation Office Jamaa) Mr. Ibrahim Yakubu and Mr. Abu Mohammed both from (N.A.S/P. Jamaa) and Mallam Abu Ugbodaga.
Other pioneer members were Alhaji Nuhu M.A., Brothers. T.A. Sunmanu, S.A. Kehinde, S.A. Durojaye, M. Yusuf, A.A. Kosoko, S.A.O. Osungbade, J.M. Fasina, M.O. Oyesupo, Y.A. Idris Akande, J.A. Akibu, Y.A. Oloyede, M.O. Raji,A. Balogun, R.O. Okeguna,Z. Abubakar, A.R. Qadir, A.L. Ayobami, K. Kosoko and Muritala.
In 1981, the headquarters posted the first resident Misisonary Solihu Eleti, who stayed for 6 months.Other Missionaries posted to Kafanchan were N.O. Bada, 1985 and 1987, A.G.B.Obey , Lukman Soretire 1999, Nuhu Abdus Salam, 2000,M.T.A. Adeniran 2001, M.M. Akintola, 2007.
On Friday 29th January 1971, the then Emir – on behalf of some Muslims in Kafanchan proscribed the Jama’at from performing Jumah prayers separately. The proscription was lifted on Saturday the 15th May 1971 after a dialogue/debate between the Jama’at and other Muslim scholars. The debate took place at the Emir’s palace. Late Mallam Ibrahim Bichi spoke on behalf of the Jama’at.
The debates end up favouring the Jama’at. Right there, the then Emir, the Waziri and the Qaadi – Alikali or the Judge – and some of the members of the Emirate council signed Baiat.
Ibrahim Nok – The Hakimi of Nok – used his good offices to assist the Jamaat in tabligh activities across many towns and villagers in the area. Among the important places where Ahmadiyya Jama’at were firmly established through tabligh were Andun, Angwar-Mangoro, Anwan-Yaro, Agyaga, Chori, Dutse-Bako, Fadan-Wate, Gani-Sarki, Gwandara, Gwaska, Hayin Gada, Janda, Kagoro, Kariyo, Kwoi, Mararaba-Barde, Ninkoro, Nok, Numbun-Bashai, Sabo-Gari-Kwagiri, Tapri-Tsauni, and Ungwar Jatau.
IGBEMO-EKITI MISSION: 1960
Muallim A J J Bada was able to win some converts in July 1948 and the early ones were Alfa Abdus Salaam Ahmad, Alhaji Hazzan Dayisi, late Abdul Malik Ajana, Bro. Shittu Oso Oriye, Alhaji Musa Ibrahim, Ismail Olowolafe Dayisi, late Yusuff Bello and Alhaji Hazzan Ayodele. It was in 1960, that the Jama’at was fully established. It then acquired a plot of land where the Jama’at’s present Mosque stands. Also with the mosque was a vacant plot large enough to accommodate the building of a modern mosque, mission house and recreational facilities. The early officers of the Jama’at then were: late Alfa Yusuff Bello, Alhaji Hazzan Ayodele, and Alfa Abdus-Salaam Ahmed
JOGA ORILE MISSION: 1961
Ahmadiyyat started in the above named mission on 16th May, 1961. Bro. Raji Egbebi was then the Chairman.
At first, only seven people signed the Baiat and they were Bro. Raji Egbebi, Tijani Olukuewu, Yinusa Akintola, Dauda Olatunji, Lasisi Olatunji, Lawal Orobiyi and Aliyu Olowookere.
APAPA MISSION: 1961
Ahmadiyyat was introduced into Apapa in 1961 through Alhaji A. A. Dawodu who came from Lagos Island with others. Alhaji Dawodu became an Ahmadi Muslim around 1921. The other Ahmadis Muslims that formed the pioneer members of the Apapa Jama’at were Mr. Jimoh Lawal, Bro. Salihu Bello and Alhaji U. O. Musa. They had their meetings at 29 Salami Street, in the house of Bro. Lawal, under the Chairmanship of Alhaji A. A. Dawodu with Mr. Bello as Secretary. Bro. Lawal was treasurer and Alhaji Musa was the Imam. They had no mosque until 1967 when they erected a wooden mosque at 78, Salami Street. The Jama’at encountered some difficulties in respect of land. The Jama’at had since built a standard permanent Mosque in 1976 at Salami Street, Araromi, Apapa Olodi.
MUSHIN MISSION: 1961
Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission spread to Mushin from Lagos Island. All the foundation members of the Mushin Mission were old Ahmadis from Lagos Island who for one reason or the other had to move to the developing suburbs of Lagos Island. Some moved to their new private houses, others moved for want of more space because of their growing families. They decided to form a branch of the Jama’at so as to have closer interactions for better understanding. By this they would be able to solve their common problems like transportation, place of worship, training of their children, wives, and new converts. Their first meeting was held at Alhaji A.W. Elias’ house, No. 168, Isolo Road, Mushin. The following members were present at the inaugural meeting held on 8 January 1961.
Brother Muhammad Tajudeen Omopariola commonly called Imam Omopariola, Alhaji A.W. Elias, Bro. Y.S. Aderounmu, Bro. Abdul-Hamid Oloyede (now Alhaji A.L. Lawal), Alfa Yekinni Salaam, Bro. Jimoh Tomori, Kasali Jenmi, Bro. Kasali Ashiru and Bro. H.A. Junaid. At the second meeting held on January 15, 1961, the following people from Ikorodu road joined: Mr. Hassan Abdullah, Alfa Hashim Ibrahim, Mr. A.H. Oshinbolu, Mr. S.A. Are, Mr. A.H. Abdullah and Mr. Tahir Seedy. The place of meeting was shifted to 20A, Mosalasi Street, Mushin and a small place in front of the house which belonged to Mr. Tajudeen Omopariola was used as a temporary mosque.
They requested formal permission to establish the branch Mission at Mushin from Maulana Naseem Saifi. He first turned down the request, because he thought they might disassociate themselves from the headquarters and joined those people who broke away from the Worldwide Ahmadiyya Movement in Islam. Later, he appreciated their reasons and accorded them recognition as a branch.
They intensified their evangelistic activities; won more converts and the Jama’at grew in number. The need for a mosque of the Jama’at arose. The Jama’at got about two plots of land at Ogungbaiye Street, Mushin in the heart of Mushin for £400.00. This plot of land for £400 was lost by the Jama’at because the Jama’at could not raise the amount within two years. Fortunately the Jama’at acquired another plot of land at 51, Adeyemi Street, Mushin. The owner of the land was Mr. Yusuf Giwa alias Baba Oro who became an Ahmadi. He sold the piece of land to the Jama’at for the sum of £400.00. Alhaji Omopariola played a leading role in the buying of the property and conversion of Mr. Yusuf Giwa. The mosque was named after the Third Khalifa; Nasir Ahmad mosque laid the foundation in 1980.
The following branches have grown under Mushin zone: Isolo, Mafoluku, Palm Grove, Egbe, Fadeyi and Festac.
IMODI-IJEBU MISSION: 1962
In 1962 Ahmadiyya Muslim mission at Imodi was established by Pa S. Kadiri Nuga and Alhaji S. Baoku. Alhaji Baoku voluntarily donated the mosque. Alhaji L. Ade Adams an indigene of Imodi who was based in Lagos came home to organise the formal launching of the mission with other brothers with the support of the then Amir Maulana Ajmal Shahid.
In 1975, a piece of land was purchased with the help of Amir Maulana M.A. Shahid at Gbajumo Street Imodi on which the Central Mosque was built with support from Ijebu Circuit and other members of other missions including Alhaji A.Q. Motajo. Also Alhaji Adams denoted part of his compound for Mosque building at Epo Road, Imodi.
AYUA MISSION: 1963
ALHAJI Ibrahim Oyarebu used to tour Ayua and other nearby villages in the 1950s. He won some converts in Ayua Village. In 1963, Muallim A.K. Mustapha returned there after receiving some training from Maulana Naseem Saifi in Lagos. He organised the Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission there. Muallim A.K. Mustapha is a native of Ayua.
OYO MISSION: 1963
The introduction of Ahmadiyya into Oyo town was due to the vigorous tabligh activities of Ibadan Mission. Significantly, the role of Alhaji Abdul Ganiyu Salami Omooba, a prince of Oyo, resident in Ibadan must be acknowledged. Through the efforts of Alhaji Abdul Ganiyu Salami, Maulvi Rashendeen, a Pakistani missionary, came to Oyo during Ramadan in 1963. He was allowed to address a group of orthodox Muslims at Onikanko Compound. Although the address was well received, the orthodox Muslim leaders told the people not to join the Ahmadiyya fold so as not to be diverted from the ways of their fore-fathers.
However, after relentless preachings, debates, questions and answers, many people embraced the Jama’at and signed the Baiat. Among the early converts who are active, were Fatai Bello, Lamidi Gbegiri, Alhaji H.O. Shehu, Sule Olanrewaju Aminu, A.G. Adio Adepoju, late brother Liadi Adio Adedoyin, Bro. A.F. Adedeji, Late Lasisi Adanji, Rufai Iyanda, Yekini Alabi, and Ahmed Tijani
The converts observed their prayers in a small shop donated by Alhaji Abdul Ganiyu Salami at Onikanko Compound, Pakoyi. After about five years, they moved from the Onikanko compound temporary mosque to a more convenient place at Kosija compound also at Pakoyi where they spent another three years before building their own mosque at Aketa compound, Pakoyi, Oyo.
The first Ahmadiyya Central Mosque, Oyo was built between 1971 and 1972 at Aketa Compound, Pakoyi. The land was donated by Alhaji H.O Shehu, then an active member of Ahmadiyya Jama’at in Lagos and an indigene of Oyo Town.
Opposition was very severe in Oyo particularly from non-Ahmadi Muslims. The plan of the Oyo Jama’at to build a new central mosque at Agunpopo 1980 was openly and vehemently opposed by the non-Ahmadi Muslims under the town’s Chief Imam. The Central Mosque at Agunpopo is yet to be completed.
The Jama’at was able to extend its influence to neighbouring towns and villages including the establishment of Missions in Shaki, Okeho, Kishi, Ikoyi-Ogbomosho, Iseyin and Iresa-Adu, Tede and Irawo, Idiko-Ile.
As a result of the expansion of the Jama’at, five zones were created with zonal Imams and officers. Former Oyo Jama’at had been divided into 3 Jama’ats namely, Pakoyi-Oyo, Basorun-Oyo and Owode-Oyo.
Pakoyi Oyo Jama’at had its headquarters at Pakoyi with three zones namely Pakoyi, Isale Oyo and Igbonla.
Basorun-Oyo Jama’at with its headquarters at Agunpopo had five zones. There are Basorun, Agunpopo, Agboye, Akinmoonrin and Sooro zones.
Owode-Oyo Jama’at with its headquarters at Akeetan Tuntun had four zones. These are Akeetan-tuntun, Owode, Arrowona, and Araromi zones.
The circuit currently has thirteen Jama’at under its operation; these are Pakoyi-Oyo, Owode-Oyo, Basorun-Oyo, Ogbomoso, Ikoyi-Ile, Iresa-Adu, Olagusi, Kidi, Saki, Tede, Irawo, Okeho, Iseyin and Idiko-ile.
The first Oyo Circuit Missionary was Hafiz A.G. Shobambi followed by Missionary Asimawiyu Raji and Maulvi Hashim, Maulvi A.J. Giwa and Maulvi Sanni.
LAGOS ISLAND MISSION: 1964
The formal establishment of Ahmadiyya in Lagos Island came about at the instance of the then Amir, Maulana Nasir D. Ahmad. At the inception, late Alfa Baidhu Bankole Balogun was elected Chairman; the Secretary was Alfa Muhammad B.A. Ameen and Alfa Ishola Dauda Olokodana, the Financial Secretary.
Lagos Island Mission is actively involved in the unifying efforts of Lagos Circuit which serves as an umbrella organisation for all Missions in metropolitan Lagos and later in Lagos State.
At the initial stage it consisted of nine missions: Lagos Island, Agege, Agidingbi, Apapa, Ebute-Metta, Mushin, Shomolu, Surulere and Yaba. Among those representing the member missions include Imam A.K.S. Adalemo, R.A. Odukoya and S.A. Falola from Agege, Alhaji A. Yusuf from Agidingbi, Alhaji A.A. Daodu from Apapa, Alhaji M.A.H.L. Oloyede and Brother S.I. Ogunbekun from Mushin, Alhaji A.Q.A. Motajo and Brother B.I. Yunus from Shomolu and Brother A.R.A. Bakare from Yaba.
The Lagos circuit has the unique opportunity of playing host to the late Hazrat Mirza Nasir Ahmad (the Third Khalifatul Masih)(r.a.) in April 1970, under the Imarat of Maulana F.I Anweri.
A few years later during the tenure of Alhaji Muhammad Baidhu Ameen (the Chairman) new missions were inaugurated to the Circuit. They are Badagry, Ijeshatedo, Festac-Town and Ojokoro. Others are Iwopin, Ode-Omi, Isefolu, Ibiade, Igbogbo, which were formerly in Ijebu-Ode Circuit.
VOICE OF ISLAM
It was remarkable that Lagos circuit took the challenge of tabligh activities on Radio Lagos under the programme Voice of Islam.Members contributed financially and intellectually to the success of the programme.
OGBAGI MISSION: 1964
Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at Ogbagi was formerly introduced in 1964, but due to the misconception that Ahmadis do not bury their corpses but burn them and some other stories concorted by the opponents. Hence, the present Mission started in 1969 by few members under the leadership of Alhaji Abudu Oloruntoba. The pioneers of the Jama’at were Alhaji Abdul Oloruntoba, Bro. Jamiu I.A, Bro. Saibu Olabomi, Pa Bello Olusuyi, Pa Sule Sanni, Pa Sule Ogunsan, Aliu Bakare, Aliu Momodu, Chief Olomofe Tijani Awoduyi, Aminu Inatu, Aliu Jamiu, Jamiu Umar, Adam Ameen, Ibrahim Oloruntoba, Saibu Oloruntoba and Pa Jamiu Agbetimiro, Amoda Saba, Jamiu Bello, Yakubu Ajibade and Ganiyu Ayegbusi. Later Brother Ibrahim Saliu joined the Jamaat along with their family members.
Among the list, Alhaji Abudu Oloruntoba was the only knowledgeable one who was well informed about Ahmadiyya. Missionary, Bro. Zakariyau Junaid was posted from the headquarters, Lagos.During his stay; they heard a rumour that Ahmadiyya had been black-listed by non-Ahmadis. Some members deserted the Jamaat as a result of this development.
In one of their meetings, a request was made to the headquarters for the establishment of a secondary school. This was approved under the leadership of the then Amir, F.I. Anweri.Consequently, Ahmadiyya Grammar School; Ogbagi Akoko was opened in September, 1975.The pioneering Principal was Mr A.R Mamodu and the first teacher was Maulim Tola Kareem.
Thereafter, the Chairman, Alhaji Abudu Oloruntoba opened a Quranic Centre managed by Alhaji Amusa Enikanonaiye for ten years before he left for Kwara State as Arabic teacher in one of the Government Schools.
After the departure of Alhaji Enikanonaiye, the Chairman son, Alhaji Issa Oloruntoba took over the management of the Quranic School.
SURULERE MISSION: 1964
BEFORE 1964, there were some Ahmadi Muslims living in Surulere, but they were not meeting regularly to work together as a Jama’at. They prefer joining Lagos Island Jama’at activities.
In 1964, the Ahmadis in Surulere who included Mr. Bhati who was then the Principal of Muslim Teacher’s Training College, Alhaji Eti, Alfa S.B. Giwa, Alhaji M.M. Habeebu, Alhaji S.T. Johnson and a few others met in Alhaji Eti’s house at 25, Ibidun Street, Surulere and decided to establish a Jama’at at Surulere.
Alhaji Eti’s house was chosen as meeting place and Alhaji M.M. Habeebu’s house at 124A, Ojuelegba Road, Surulere was regularly used for congregational prayers.
A few years later, Alhaji Eti moved to Lagos Island. Alhaji M.M. Habeebu volunteered his house at 124A Ojuelegba Road, Surulere, as the next meeting place for the Surulere Mission.
The first Chairman of the Surulere Jama’at was Alhaji Eti while Alhaji M.M. Habeebu was the Imam. When Alhaji Eti moved to Lagos Island, Alhaji Saolad-Deen Tokunboh Johnson was chosen as the Chairman. Alhaji K.M.Y. Onigbanjo became the next Chairman of Surulere Mission after the death of Alhaji S.T. Johnson, 1975.
Apart from the members mentioned above, there were other active members such as Alhaji Abdul Yakini A. Alamutu, Alhaji F.S. Shijuwola, Alhaji A.F.A. Bakare, Bros. Sulaiman, A.R. Danmola, Alhaji Jimoh and Bro. Rafiu.
On the 14th of Ramadhan in 1985, Alhaji S.B. Eti, brother, Alhaji Musa Eti signed the Baiat and donated the ground floor of his house as mosque to the Jamaat.
APATA-GANGA MISSION, IBADAN: 1964
Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at was introduced to the Ebira Muslims Community in Apata by one of the old members of Ibadan Mission in person of late Bro. Issa Quadri, who, himself, hailed from Edo state former Bendel.
Ibadan Mission, to start with, held series of open-air lectures and had debates with the Bandele Muslim sect at Apata-Ganga and won the hearts of the Ebira Muslims after the spectacular victory over the Bandele group.
The Ebira Community later signed Baiats and were initiated into the fold of Ahmadiyyat. The community later handed over their Mosque to Ahmadiyyat and chose Alfa Issa Quadri as their first Chairman. Alfa Issa Quadri was at that time in 1964 working with the Western Nigeria Lafia Canning Factory.
Important converts who were old members of Apata-Ganga branch included Imam Alfa Saib, Alhaji Isiaq Andiye, Alhaji Yussuf Leramo, Alhaji Raoof Idowu, Alhaji Mufutau Coker, Bro. Jimoh Elese and Saibu Amechi.
As a result of preaching activities and house-to-house campaign, Apata branch of Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at gave birth to three zones with three mosques.
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM JAMA’AT EDE : 1964
Ede is one of the Islamic towns in the old Western State of Nigeria, out of which Osun State was carved out. Most of the people at Ede are farmers, Technicians, Artisans and Traders. The town has produced many great Islamic Scholars.
Furthermore, sharia was first introduced at Ede, throughout the old Western Region during the reign of Timi, Royal Highness of Ede land Oba Habeeb Olagunju.
Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at penetrated into Ede Town as far back as 1964 through the effort of early Ahmadiyya Muslim converts who happened to be Ede indigenes working outside the town. They were Bro. Abdul Raheem, who was working at Ado Ekiti Village, and Bro. Safiriyu who lived in Lagos.
In the following year i.e. 1965, Zakariyau of Oke-Egan came from Ado-Ekiti to propagate Ahmadiyya. he succeeded in establishing the first set of Jama’at Oke-Egan’s mosque under the Imamship of Bro. Raji of Ile-Oke (Agip). Later, Mualim M.A. Ameen arrived from Ile-Ife to join the Jama’at.
In 1966, Muallim Ameen was mandated to stay at Ede for the propagation of Ahmadiyya. He succeeded in winning some converts into the fold at Bode and Oke Agip area. Muallim M.A. Ameen succeeded in organizing the first Eid’s prayer for the Jama’at. Later, Maulvi Quraish from Lagos, Bro. Bashirudeen Junaid and some strong members from Ile-Ife visited the Jama’at at Ede to ensure proper take off of Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at.
The early converts encourtered stiff hostility from non-Ahmadis. The first formal meeting of the Jama’at was held at Bode under the supervision of Maulvi Quraish. The meeting was held to locate a permanent place for the building of the mosque. Some of the converted members in attendance were; Bro. Abdul Azeez Adewusi, Bro. Junaid Olanrewaju, bro. Abdul Azeez Okunade, Bro. Lasunkanmi Barber, Bro. Abdul hameed Olayemi, bro. Muritala Adeleke, Bro. Abdul Raheem Obiyenwa, Bro. Solihu Ile Oluode, Bro. Safiriyu Gbadamosi and Madam Nusirat Ameen.
After several efforts to secure a mosque, two rooms were rented at Adogbe Oke house near Ile-Oku. The Jama’at observed their five daily prayers there. The first Juma’at service was observed on 15th August, 1969, at Ile Adogbe Oke, Maulvi Quraish delivered the sermon. His joint efforts with Maulim Ameen subsequently led to the full establishment of the Jama’at at Ede today.
Missionary J.J. Bada was the first Ahmadiyya Missionary to visit Ede Jama’at in 1968. Missionary Tola Kareem came after him. The two missionaries always paid an impromptu-visit to monitor the spread of Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at at Ede.
The first executive members were Muallim M.A. Ameen (Chairman), Bro. Muritala Adeleke (Secretary), Bro. Yinus Osinlu (Treasurer).The first of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at Ede was commissioned in 1966 by Alfa Abdul Raheem A.A. Oluwa. He was accompanied by Bro. Jamiu Hassan, Bro. Bashirudeen Junaid and Alfa Abdul Azeez Arikewusola. After much persuasion to secure land, the then, Timi of Ede, Late Oba Toyese Laoye, a Christian, donated some plot of land to the Jama’at, sited at the back of Oba’s palace. There, the present Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at Central Mosque was built till today.To cap it all, another acres of land was donated to the Jama’at at Oke-Elemu by Oba Toyese, Late Timi of Ede land. The land is serving as Eid’s praying ground for Ede Jama’at today.
After the establishment of the Jama’at, public lecture, house-to-house preaching and ‘Daila lah’ began in earnest under the auspices of Muallim M.A. Ameen. This was met with a stiff opposition, violent attack like stoning the Jama’at members and destructive preaching was organized by non-Ahmadis Muslim to destroy the Jamaat.
Some delegates who came from Ile Ife led by Brother Basirudeen Junaid and Maulvi Quraish from Lagos led the Jumat service. Bro. Ameen and other indegenes of Ede went for Missionary Training in Lagos. On their return , one of the strong members, Brother Ameen was forcefully taken by non Ahmadi Muslims and was later interrogated at their Central mosque. The Chief Imam of the central mosque commanded him to bring his followers-Ahmadis to perform Jumat service behind him. He warned him of impending doom, if he refused. Brother Ameen was adamant and asserted that Insha Allah he would established Ahmadiyya in the town and would not perish.
He was later arrested by the police at the request of non Ahmadis in the town. The then Amir Maulivi Anweri was contacted. He reported the incident to the Commissioner of Police, Oyo State. The Jamaat engaged the service of a Lawyer. Consequent upon which Brother Ameen was released. In one of the debates and preachings with non-Ahmadi Muslims, Bro. M.A. Ameen almost lost his sight through stone throwing but regained it fully after three days.
Ede Jama’at embarked on serious ‘Tahajjud’ everyday and fasting to overcome the opponents’ rebellion. In a due course, Almighty Allah accepted their prayers and granted them victory over the unbelievers.
One of the remarkable successes of Ede Jama’at was their ability to shed light into the heart of many non-Ahmadis Muslim about the true Islam coupled with enlightenment preaching on Ahmadiyya beliefs. In effects, people came from Ede and its environs to sign ‘Baiat’ and this increasing the population of the Ahmadis.
The foundation of Tabligh house was laid on 10th November, 1994 by the former Chairman of the Jama’at, bro. Suarau Bola Salami. Ede Jama’at has established many mosques both at Ede on zonal basis like Alaaye zone, Oke-Gada zone, Agip zone, and in the village around Ede like Araromi Loogun.
Ahmadiyya came to Kuta through Alfa Azeez Salimonu on the fourth of Apri of 1964. This man Alfa Azeez Salimonu was also known as Akewusola.
Prominent members of the Jamat in Kuta were Brothers. Yekini Busari, Rafiu Atanda, late Amusa Busari, Suara Ayofe, and Yisau Amosun .When Alfa Azeez Salimonu died Bro. Lateef Olugoke stepped in as the Imam while Bro. Suara Ayofe was the Treasurer.
OKE-ODAN MISSION: 1966
It was through Brother Sulaiman Olatunji Ogunkunle that Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission came to Oke-Odan in Egbado South between 1966 and 1982. It happened that in the 1966, the Ahmadiyya Muslim Missionaries from Lagos, in the company of Bro. Fasasi Akinlade came to Bro. S. O. Ogunkunle at his residence by the road leading to Ilaro at Owode Egbado south and introduced the Mission to him. On the second visit of the missionaries, he accepted Ahmadiyyat and signed the Baiat with his entire family.
When Bro. Sulaiman Ogunkunle and his famly returned to their home town, Oke-Odan, they were usually observed congregational prayers in an open place in his compound being the only Ahmadi family in the town.
Later Bro. Saibu Odunlami and his family joined the Ogunkunle’s to observe congregational prayers. Odunlami’s family usually came to join Ogunkunle’s family for congregational prayers.
As the Jama’at was growing, the few members decided to build a mosque. Interestingly, the Ogunkunle family donated a piece of land for the mosque. The foundation stone of that mosque was laid by the then Ami, Muhammad Ajmal Shahid on the 31st January, 1982.
More people joined the Jamaat after the construction of the mosque. These included was after building the mosque Brothers. A. R. Abdul Azeez, Isa Abdul Azeez, Raji Salami, A. L. Omolade, A. R. Ojuolape, Abdul Ganiyu, L. Abdul Azeez, A. G. Babalola, Amusan Alimi Idowu, M. A. Atanda, Raufu, Lamidi and others.
Owode and Ilaro Missions played a very a very remarkable role in the growth of Oke-Odan Mission by coming to preach there frequently.Though Oke-Odan Jama’at is very young but was lucky to produce a Circuit President for Abeokuta circuit as at 1989 in person of Bro. Sulaimon Olatunji Ogunkunle.
OWERRI MISSION (IMO STATE): 1966/70
Ahmadiyyat was first introduced into Imo State of Nigeria (via Owerri) in 1966, through the efforts of Alhaji Tijania Akubuo of Orlu. Before the Nigerian Civil War, an indigene, Muhammad Ukagba, was sent to Lagos to be trained as a Missionary. But when the civil war broke out in 1967, he had to return home. He however returned to Lagos at the end of war in 1970 to continue his training. Unfortunately, this trained Missionary was later withdrawn by his brother, who was a successful merchant, to become the Imam of Orlu Mosque. This Mosque, (Orlu Mosque) was originally built by Ahmadis, but now controlled by non-Ahmadi Muslims. Because of non-availability of any document supporting it, it could not be claimed.
After the war in 1970, the Jama’t was re-established by the efforts of Mualim Ali Onuoha and two others – Brothers Abubakar Osukpa and Ibrahim Anyanwu. These two brothers were with the Jama’at until 1977 when the promised scholarship to Hadji by the Ahmadi Muslims was not fulfilled, they had to leave the Jama’at. Mualim Ali Onuoha reported this development to the then Amir, Maulana Muhammad Ajmal Shahid. But as God would have it, Bro. S. A. Munir (who later became Amir of Australia) was transferred to Owerri. Bro. S. A. Munir, with Mallam Ali Onuoha rebuilt Owerri Mosque and a Mission house.
Then, the Jama’at in Imo State was enjoying the presence and services of a Central Missionary, Maulvi S.R. Khursheed and four locally-trained Missionaries. Through the efforts of these Missionaries, Ahmadiyya Jama’at spread to some other parts of Imo State including Umuahia, Izembe, Awara, Umuapa, Ifeakala and Agwa.
Other members of the Imo state Jamaat were Brother Ilayas Nwanwa, Bro. Jimoh Ugorji, Musa Ifakala, and Bro. Ismaila Muhammad.The Mualimeen (Local Missionaries) include Mualim Ali Onuoha, and Uthman Mashood.
KADUNA MISSION: 1967
AHMADIYYA was introduced to Kaduna through the effort of Bro. B.I.Adeola in 1967. In the same year Bro. G. M. Bello was transferred to Kaduna. These two staunch members started in earnest to search for more members both old and new. To this end, Bro. B.I.Adeola advertised in the Newspaper and on Radio. The first meeting of the Jama’at was held on the 26 February, 1967 at F.13 Jos Road, which was Bro. Bello’s residence. The meeting was attended by only five members namely: Bros. B.I.Adeola, Rasaki Suara, Alimi Areo, G.M.Bello, and K. Yahya. The meeting was chaired by Bro. B. I.Adeola.
After many efforts by these members they were able to get Alhaji Dirisu Ajijola a prominent and influential Ahmadi. A meeting was arranged with him at his residence on 16 April, 1967.
At that meeting election was held and Alhaji Ajijola was elected Chairman while Bro. B. I. Adeola was Vice Chairman, G. M.Bello Secretary, and S. A. Taiwo , the Treasurer.
Alhaji Ajijola thereby made a promise to give two rooms to the Jama’at at F.15 Jos road for use as mosque.
After many years of struggle by members and by the grace of Almighty Allah, a member in Kano,Alhaji Inuwa Muhammad decided to sell his house in Kaduna to the Jama’at at a give-away price for the construction of mosque and mission house at BW.25 Matazu Road TundunWada, Kaduna. The Jama’at moved to the house on 23rd of December, 1974. A plan for the construction of the Moaque was made by the Grace of Allah the foundation for the three storey building was laid in December 1981 by Amir M. A. Shahid. The building of the mosque commenced in February, 1982 and was completed in July, 1982.
Some of the Missionaries that had served in Kaduna though for a short period included Maulvi Giwa, Alhaji Shekoni and Alhaji Daramola.
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM JAMA’AT OSOGBO: 1967
History of Ahmadiyya in Osogbo, the Capital of Osun State date back to 1967 when missionary Abdul Ganiyu an Ede indigene preached the gospel of Ahmadiyya to people, being a visiting missionary the doctrine was not well accepted, until 1970 when Brother Muheeb Ameen, (a.ka Fabulous), a pool agent, a successful estate agent who resided at Okini re-introduced the Jamaat to them. Though he was invited to be leading the Jumat service at Gaji mosque, before his arrival the mosque had been taken over by the orthodox Muslim.
The pioneer President of the Jama’at was Alhaji Ali Akeju whose tenure of office commenced from 1970 to 1979 while Bro. M.S. Bello was the first missionary. Other pioneer executve members were Pa Abdul Ganiyu Aderigbe, Pa Alawode, Late Pa Jimoh Adewuyi, Alhaji Adeagbo and Pa Sanusi Tella.
The tenure of Alhaji Ali Akeju as President and Bro. M.S. Bello, witnessed the establishment of the first Ahmadiyya Mosque and Arabic and Quranic Classes which were situated at 23, Latona Street Osogbo. The Mosque which was made of bricks was built in the 60s. The first mission house was situated at No. 23, Siyanbola Street, Osogbo in 1970.
The first eid prayer was observed in 1970, led by Bro. M.S. Bello at Latona.
Late Maulvi Abdul Rasheed Agboola, former Amir, who was formerly a member of Sheriffdeen Muslim Mission later joined the Jama’at and sent for missionary course with Bro. M.S. Bello. And in order to fill the vacuum Bro. J.J. Bada was sent to relief Bro. M.S. Bello.
The then Amir, Maulvi Ajmal Sahid visited Osogbo during his tour to the Western state of Nigeria and was overwhelmingly received by the members and Khuddam under the leadership of Bro. Abdul Jeli Olayiwoola as Qaid, Brothers A.A. Woye, Opefemi, Raji Sulaiman, Azeez Iyanda, Babalola Azeez, Late Yusuf Alimi, Pa. H.O. Olorunlogbon and Maullim Akin Bensalah in 1974.
To fill the long existing vacuum in search for Central Mosque, the unrelented efforts of Late Pa. J. Adewuyi led to the discovery of the site of the present Ahmadiyya Central Mosque in 1976 at Magba Aganna Street, compound Sabo Road Osogbo at a cost of N900.
Serious pressure was mounted on the Jama’at by the then Chairman of Osogbo Local Government Council, Chief Goke Ajiboye with a view to preventing the Jamaat from building and erecting the mosque. He claimed that the site will be used for an amusement park but through series of prayers and contributions of members and non members the Jamaat’s mission was achieved.
Prominent members who served and worked assiduously in achieving this aim included Alh. Ali Akeju family, Alhaji Lateef, Ade Champion, Bro. Azeez Iyanda, Alhaji Olasoji and H.O Sunmonu, who later became the Amir.
Also the contributions of other Muslims and non Muslims towards the development of Ahmadiyya in Osogbo cannot be over emphasized. For example, Shehu Ahmada Sheriff of Sheriffdeen and Bishop Adelakun of Catholic Diocese of Osogbo rendered moral and financial support. Alhaji Yusuff Adeagbo helped in hosting Maulvi Zahid Mughni in his family house at Adenle’s compound with all the necessary facilities provided to make his stay in Osogbo easier and comfortable in the 80s.
Before the completion of the central mission house, some faithful ladies contributed immensely to the progress of Ahmadiyya in Osogbo, such women of substance included Alhaja Akeju Adebanjo, Latifat, and Taibat Sunmonu others were Asiawu Adewuyi, Sabitiyu Bakare, Asimowu Bakare and Sidikatu Adewuyi.
Missionary Yakeen Habib was the first trained missionary posted to Osogbo Jamaat in 1974. His tenure witnessed a tremendous achievement .He was able to put Jamaat on a sound footing through his diplomatic way of addressing issues. Similarly Missionary S.D.A. Ahmad a visiting missionary between 1976 and 1978 was able to organize series of public lectures and public debates to portray the true meaning of Ahmadiyya and Islamic tenets to the people. Through these, he was successful in winning many new converts into the fold of Ahmadiyya.
Sometimes Alhaji A.O. Soliu (A.K.A.) Salam Salam had acted as Imam Solat being very versed in Islamic knowledge but later expelled for alledged gross misconduct.
Muallim Akin A. Bensalah was the missionary between 1977 and 1979. He worked relentlessly in wining souls for the Jamaat. He also carried the messages of Ahmadiyya out of Osogbo to the nearby towns like Inisha, Ejigbo to mention but a few.
The fulfilment of prophesy of the Promised Messiah (A.S) has come to pass that any plot made by orthodox Muslims and other evil doers to suppress Ahmadiyya would not be successful. The Jamaat triumphed through constant tahjud, daily obligatory prayers and other related special prayers organized by the Jamaat.
Alhamdullah, Osogbo Jamaat has produced many important personalities who have and are still contributing to the progress of the Jamaat both at Local, National and international levels.
- Late Maulvi AbdurRasheed Ahmad Agboola: he was a dedicated missionary who happened to be first Nigeria Amir and Missionary –In- charge and later served as Amir in Guyana before he transited to eternal glory in 2003.
- Alhaji H.O. Sunmonu: He is still serving the Jamaat today relentlessly in various capacities. Alhaji H.O. Sunmonu was the second Nigerian Amir. His twin Brother Alhaji H.A. Sunmonu is also an eminent personality in the Jamaat known internationally.
- Bro. M.A. Raheem: Nabi Sadr Majilis Ansarullah Nigeria
- Bro. Adegboyega: Nazim Ansarullah, Ota in Ogun State
- Bro. Abdul Fatai Olaniyi: Misisonary, Shagamu Jamaat.
Osogbo Jamaat was divided into three zones ,namely, Wole Ola Estate Zone where two plots of land has been donated to the Jamaat by Alhaji (Engr.) H.O. Sunmonu,Powerline Zone where Pa. Sulaiman Raji donated half a plot of land to the Jamaat and Osun Jela Zonal mosques donated by Brother Sulaiman Lawal.
Osogbo Jamaat floated Fazl-I-Omar Ahmadiyya Nursery & Primary School in September, 2002 during the time of Brother Yekeen Oladejo, while efforts are on for more development projects.
EJIGBO MISSION (OYO STATE) 1968
Ahmadiyya Jama’at Ejigbo now in Osun State started as a branch of the Ahmadiyya Movement in Islam, Nigeria. Ejigbo Jama’at consisted of these pioneers Brothers Abdul Azeez Akinrimola Bensallah and his Brother Hussein Alagbe, Abdul Kareem Okikiola and Muftau Oladepo and families.
Observing that Ejigbo Jama’at was not making progress the pioneers decided to join the Jama’at Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission of Nigeria with the headquarters at 45, Idumagbo Avenue, Lagos. They signed biat in 1970 at the hand of the then Amir, F.I.Anweri.
The first Chairman and Imam of the Ahmadiyya Jama’at of Ejigbo was late Pa. Ibrahim Odewole an Ahmadi Muslim from Ghana. He worked hard for the expansion of the Jama’at and the propagation of Ahmadiyya teachings. It was during his tenure that the land for the first mosque building was bought. A temporary mosque was built in 1977.
In 1982, Ejigbo Local Government approved the establishment of Ahmadiyya Community Primary School which was built on a land graciously donated by the Oba of Ejigbo Oba Omowonuola Oyeyode Oyesosi II.
On the death of the first Chairman in 1982, Bro. Abdul Kareem Akanbi also an Ahmadi Muslim from Ghana took over the leadership. The first resident Missionary was Brother Moshood Balogun. Other members included Brothers. Abdul Ganiyi Balogun, Abdul Ganiyu Otun, Abdul Lateef Tadese, Yekeen Ibrahim and the first Missionary from Ejigbo is Bro. Abdul Azeez Akinrinmola Bensallah, who had in 1971 gone to Ijebu Ode for Missionary Training.
The foundation stone of the permanent mosque was laid in July 1986. Before then, a temporary Mosque had been erected on the site, which was well utilized for services during the year’s Ramadan Fast. The Jama’at has over 13 acres of land, with a mosque and a primary school.
The Jama’at has such cordial relationship with the larger community including Muslims and Christian organizations as well as the traditional worshipers. The Local Government recognizes the Jama’at and places it as number two among Muslim organizations. The Obas too, and their Chiefs (past and present) were helpful to the Jama’t.
AGO-IWOYE MISSION: 1968
Ago-Iwoye Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission came into being through Muallim Tola Kareem who had in 1967 embraced Ahmadiyyat in Ibadan. He was then anxious to get Ahmadiyyat introduced into his home town, Ago-Iwoye.
He visited Ago-Iwoye several times and held meetings with a group of young Muslims in the town. He was assisted by Bro. S.A. Onihale. Despite stiff opposition by the orthodox Ulama ,the Jamaat was able to spread its tentacles across the town .Particular worthy of mention were the contributions of Alhaji Dauda Kokosho and Alhaji Solih Olufowobi, who are members of the orthodox muslims in the town.
Through whose efforts the Jammat was able to gathered and hold dialoque with the young Muslims. Some of them later joined the Jamaat.
By the end of 1968, the Mission in Ago-Iwoye had taken shape so much so that the first Eid-ul Adha prayer was held on 27 February, 1969.Muallim Salaud-Deen A. Ahmad led the prayers and delivered the sermon.
The then Amir Maulana F. I. Anweri made his first visit to the town on May 1, 1969 and met important personalities such as the Chief Imam, the then Oba David Osiyemi and Muslim scholars of the town.
Another important contribution was made by two christaians namely, late Reverend N.O Paseda and Chief S.A Osuntoye. When orthodox Muslims in the town denied the use of any part of the town for Eid prayers, Revefend Paseda volunteered the use of its school field for Eid prayers. He later allowed the use of his former shed within the same compound for daily payers as mosque. This gesture continued for ten years.
It was quite reamarkable that late Reverend Paseda’s friend , Chief Osuntoye described Ahmadiyya Muslims as peace and progressive Muslim which endeared him to assist the Jamaat greatly.
The building of the Mission’s Mosque was completed after a long period and was declared open by the then Amir Maulana Ajmal Shahid on November 19, 1978.
In 1980, the Mission succeeded in opening Ahmadiyya Secondary School Ago-Iwoye with an in take of 135 students. The first Principal was Mr. S.M.Fadimu.
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM JAMA’AT, IKIRUN – OBAAGUN 1969
The seed of Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission seemed to have been sown in October, 1969. For on that date Mr. Dauda Aborisade of Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission Odo-Ona who was a staff member of the Oyo State Ministry of Agriculture was posted to Osun North-East Division to open an agricultural extension service office.
Ikirun is in Osun North-East Division of old Oyo State. Bro. Aborisade was based at Ikirun, where he used his close friend, one Kazeem Eniola a news vendor to distribute Ahmadiyya literature and calendars. He was involved in dialogue and debates with Nasril Islamic Society, particularly one of its leaders, Alhaji Yunusa Sanusi who was proprietor of an Arabic and Islamic Institute in the town.
Bro. Aborisade requested from the then Amir Maulana F.I. Anweri for Missionary assistance in the religious debates and preaching activities. The Amir then sent Maullim Abdul A J J Bada from Ado-Ekiti to Ikirun. He was succeeded by Maulim Tola Kareem in 1972.
Among the pioneer members and converts are Brothers Kazeem Eniola and Salami Adeyemi, who at one time served as Chairman of the mission.
A piece of land was later acquired on which a sizeable mosque was built. The foundation laying ceremony was performed in 1972 by the then Amir, Maulana M.A. Shahid and the roofing was completed in 1974.
It is worth mentioning that a non-Ahmadi Muslim friend of the Jama’at named Alhaji Raji Kolade of Ilobu donated six bundles of roofing sheets.
Ikirun Mission has extended its activities to Ire town. The Misisonary posted to Iree was Muallim M.J. Raji. Other founding fathers of Ahmadiyya Mission in Ire were two brothers Sanusi Ladosu and Dauda Aborisade.
Former Amir Maulvi Abdul Rasheed Agboola approved the construction of a new moque with a support of one hundred bags of cements (100 bags) from the headquarters.
BADAGRY MISSION: 1970
The Jama’at was introduced into Badagry in 1970 by Brothers Rasaq Salisu, Aiyeteru and Najeem. It all started by chance when Rasaq Salisu met with Brother Aiyeteru at a non-Ahmadi Mosque, where both had gone to pray and observed each other folded arms in the course of prayer. A discussion thus ensued after and it came to light that both had signed Baiat at Ilaro at different times before coming to Badagry. They both resolved to establish the Jama’at and were joined by Brother Nojeem.
They were also joined in 1972 by Brother Abdul Kareem Motajo from Somolu Mission, who had been transferred to Badagry by the Lagos State Ministry of Agriculture and other converts in the persons of Alhaji Popoola, Alfa Ahmed, Brother Adepoju and Jimoh Shuaib. Many other converts were won as a result of preaching activities.
At that stage, two plots of land were purchased for the purpose of erecting a mosque at Sowe Quarters. It was on this plot that a mosque was constructed largely with financial assistance from the headquarters during the Imarat of Maulana Ajmal Shahid. This Mosque has continued to serve the Jama’at for Jumat and Eid Prayers; whilst the daily prayers were offered in Brother Nojeem’s shop because the Mosque was for away from the heart of the town.
The Jamaat had since spread to Ajara, New Badagry town- Itoga Road ,Pota, Aradagun, Ibereko, and Ajido. It was remarkable to note that the Baba Adini of Badagry , Alhaji kadiri donated 6 plots of land to the Jamaat for mosque and Islamic center at Bbadagry New Town-Itoga Road . The land was however taken over by Alhaji Fagbenro afer a Supreme Court Case in 2008.
OJOKORO MISSION: 1970
As Ahmadiyya Jama’at began expanding to various parts of the country, there came the need to have a separate national headquarters distinct from the Lagos Island Secretariat.
Then between 1916 and 1921, the base of Ahmadiyya Jama’at was first 62, Bamgbose Street, Lagos Island; there was then no other branch Mission. From 1921 to 1934, the Secretariat was based at 35/37, Aroloya Street in the Ahlil‘Qur’an Central Mosque. Several early branch missions had sprung up during that period, but the headquarters and Lagos Island Mission were one. After the split by some group of former Ahlil’Qur’an sect and the reclamining of their Mosque through the law court, Ahmadiyya Jama’at Headquarters moved to 39, Daddy Alaja Street (in Daddy Alaja House) in 1934 and remained there till 1940. This place was the first official residence of Alhaji F.R. Hakeem in 1934.
In 1940 after the leadership crisis, there was a disaffiliation by second Khalifa of Ahmadiyya Jama’at. One group retained the name “Ahmadiyya Movement in Islam Nigeria” and the other adopted the name “Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission” representing the Nigerian Branch of Sadr Anjuman Ahmadiyya Qadian recognised by the Khalifatul Masih II(r.a.), the Headquarters was moved to 10, Egerton Road, Oke-Arin (now Sanusi Olusi Street). All those Headquarters were hired.
It was on Monday, August 6, 1945 that the foundation of the first Headquarters Mission House at 45, Idumagbo Avenue, Lagos was laid on a piece of land acquired by the Jama’at. The Mission House was completed in 1946 and it became the Headquarters from 1946 to 1986 when the executive felt the need for a larger place for expansion of the Headquarters itself.
Thus, Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission, Nigeria under the then Amir, Maulana Muhammad Ajmal Shahid directed Agege Ahmadiyya Mission in 1972 to look round for a large portion of land for the Jama’at’s future expansion. Specifically the land would be required to accommodate the increasing delegates to the annual conference and to build an Ahmadiyya Hospital, and to serve as an Ahmadiyya Settlement.
Two acres were first bought from Oriyomi family through Alhaji Abdul Kareem Salami Adalemo, Bro. R.A. Odukoya and Alhaji S.A. Akinyemi, respectively, the Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer of Agege Mission. The land is located on the right side of Abeokuta Expressway at Kilometre 27 directly opposite the road coming from Lagos. The bus stop at that point later came to be known as Ahmadiyya Hospital Bus Stop.
Another land located behind and in the neighbourhood of the two acres belonged to the Edun family of Alhaji Akinyemi. Thirty-four plots of that land were also acquired on a leasehold basis. Payments were made in 1972 and 1982 to the Edun family. Brother Odukoya was appointed to be the caretaker from 1972 to 1982. Approximately, 8acres of land had thus been acquired.
In clear perspective, the Birth of Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at in Ojokoro commenced with the purchase of a vast portion of land of approximately 18 acres by the Jama’at in the 1970’s through the efforts of Brother Abdul-Rafiu Odukoya and Abdul –Karim S. Adalemo both of Agege Mission.
When the then Amir, Mualana Muhammad Ajmal Shahid purchased the land at Ojokoro on behalf of the Jama’at the proposal was to establish among other things, a settlement for Ahmadi members who were willing to live in a community of Ahmadis, with a common bond of brothehood. Incorporated in the settlement was a plan for a hospital complex, Secretariat with a full-fledged Press center and a complimentary Mission House.
Meanwhile, a clarion call was made to members to come forward to purchase parcels of land for residential purposes. Only very few members responded leading to a take off of Ojokoro Mission
The hospital complex was officially opened in 1981 by late Professor Olukoye Ransome Kuti, then Minister Minister of Health. Shortly after, the Secretariat building was completed. The press headed by Maulvi M. A. Qureshi was moved from Idumagbo Avenue to the Secretariat building in Ojokoro.
The Amir and Missionary in-Charge Maulana Anweri Sahib moved into the Mission House at Ojokoro on 10th February, 1985 in response to directives from the Markaz.
Meanwhile, some members who had purchased plots of land in the settlement had been abe to complete their houses. Thus, the first families to move into the settlement were those of Alhaji Taofik Hamza Okunnu and Alhaji Al-Hassan. Other families followed gradually.
Ojokoro Muslim Jama’at was formally inaugurated on Sunday, August 5, 1984.
Ojokoro Mission since its inception has played host to the annual conference of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Jamaat, Nigeria, and other similar functions before it relocation to Ilaro and Abuja.
All along, the open spaces behind the hospital complex were being used for the Annual Conference. The National Lajna Imaillah and National Majlis Khuddamul Ahmadiyya were also allotted plots in the settlement for their own purposes. A large part of the Ojokoro Settlement had also been sold to members of the Jama’atso that a community of Ahmadi Muslims could support the Mission’s properties and also help in raising fund to pay for the land acquisition. Several of such individual members had developed their plots fully or partially. These were useful in accommodating some of the delegates to the Annual Conference.
Siddeqah (Choti Apa, Lajna world wide President), the 2nd Khalifa’s (r,a) wife was received by Ojokoro Jamaat in 1987.
Ojokoro was fortunate to also receive the Khalifatul Masih IV in February, 1988. During the visit , the foundation stone of the Headquarter Central Mosque was laid by the Khalifatul Massih IV, Hazrat Mirza Tahir Ahmad (Ayyadahullah).
Maulvi Abdur-Rasheed Ahmad Agboola was appointed as Amir on Saturday, February 20, 1988 during the Majlis Shoora in Ojokoro.
With the intensification of preaching activities in and around Ojokoro, membership of the Jama’at started to grow with converts in places such as like Alagbado about 3 kilometers from the settlement.
Ojokoro Jama’at has succeeded in establishing a Nusrey and Primary, Secondary Schools and Arabic School which have been a tremendous blessing to children in the community as well as others in the surrounding localities
WARRI, DELTA STATE JAMA’AT 1971
The history of Warri Jama’at dates back to early seventies, when an Ahmadi Muslim called Shakil Ahmad Monir was posted to teach Physics at the Federal Government College, Warri. He became Principal Education Officer and later Assistant Chief Education Officer. This period also witnessed the presence Mallam Jubril Ijeoma who was an Ahmadi Misisonary assigned to establish the Jama’at in the area predominantly populated by Christians and traditionalists.
Mallam Jubril Ijeoma was advised by the headquarters to seek for Brother M.M. Sumaina, who was also an Ahmadi and a staff of Chevron Nigeria Limited, Warri and together, they teamed up with Bro. Isa Abanaba, who had a photographic studio at Ometan/Okere junction, Warri. This studio was to later temporarily become the Juma’at service centre.
When the trio met with Shakil Monir, a strong base for the Warri Jama’at was formed, with six other expatriates of Pakistani origin, who were also teachers around Warri metropolis. Subsequently, due to the convenience of members, Monir’s quarters became the centre of Jama’at activities, such as Friday Juma’at Services and Eid prayers.
The drive for increased membership resulted in several Tabligh activities, which soon attracted the attention of some Christian bodies, within Warri and the surrounding towns like Orerokpe and Ughelli.
At one of such occasions, there was a month long inter – religious discussion with members of The Jehovah’s Witnesses.The venue was Bro. Isa Abanaba’s studio. The Warri Jama’at team was boosted at one stage by the participation of Dr. Abdur Rahman Bhutta, an Ahmadiyya Missionary Doctor serving in Nigeria, who was a great Bible scholar.
Six copies of The Holy Qur’an were later presented to the Christian discussants to mark the end of the inter-religious discussions. They had expressed great delight at the level of enlightenment gained about Islam during the period.
Shakil Ahmad Monir also led other Jama’at members to honour an invitation by one of the Chiefs of Orerokpe to deliver a public lecture on the ‘Concept of Salvation in Islam’. This was followed by a lot of questions from the audience and at the end, the chief enthusiastically remarked that “Today, we are all Muslims”. That was however his own way of appreciating our efforts and not that they had actually signed Bai’ats.
Soon after the Orerokpe Tabligh, came the opportunity to partake in the multi-religious seminar which was held in Warri Town Hall. Apart from Islam, Hinduism and Christianity were also represented. The topic of discussion was “Sin and Salvation”. Islam was represented by Dr. Abdur Rahman Bhutta and his presentation was adjudged the best.
This seminar formed the background for two pamphlets namely ‘Sin, Salvation and Christianity ‘and ‘Sin, Salvation and Islam’ authored by Dr. Bhutta and widely publicized by the headquarters all over the country. Hazrat Khalifatul Masih IVra at one time recommended the pamphlets for someone outside Nigeria.
The climax of the tabligh activities during these periods was a Qur’anic exhibition held in Benin at the instance of the then Amir of the Nigerian Jama’at, Maulana Ajmal Shahid Sahib. A bus-load of students was mobilized from Warri to participate. Two exhibition lectures were delivered. “Qur’an as the word of God” was delivered by Shakil Ahmad Monir, while another speaker presented “Bible as the word of God”. These were adequately covered by the then Bendel Television Station, who repeated Monir’s presentation thrice.
The dynamic Warri Jama’at had a fair share of criticisms and a lot of challenges within these periods. A Pakistani non-Ahmadi Muslim had published a pamphlet titled “Do you know?” wherein he canvassed adverse propaganda against Ahmadiyyat in the Warri area. Shakil Ahmad Monir had to respond by the publication of a book titled “True Reformer”. According to the author, the Amir, picked interest in the book and order fot its printing and circulation across Nigeria.
Another challenge was the fear of what would become of the Jama’at in the event that Shakil Monir was transfered out of Warri. Members therefore worried about an alternative praying centre outside Federal Government College quarters. Because of lack of funds, land could not be acquired. There was also an effort to establish an Ahmadiyya Hospital in Warri. Initially, a mobile boat hospital was contemplated to move within the riverine areas of Warri Suburbs and Sapele. When this could not materialize, a land based hospital was suggested. Whereas the health authorities had approved the intention and even registered the hospital name, the Jama’at headquarters in Lagos could not embark on the project due to the smallness of the Warri Jama’at members at the time. According to Shakil Ahmad Monir’s prayer, “Hopefully, Allah will provide an Ahmadiyya Hospital to Warri one day inshallah”. Today in Warri, Ahmadiyya mosque now exist, and flourishing there in leaps and bounds.
POST SHAKIL MONIR’S ERA 1978 – 1982:
The fears of Monir’s exit from warri soon became real. He left in 1978 and The Jama’at activities suffered a mojor set back. The yawning gap was created because there was neither a mosque nor any immediate central rallying point for the Jama’at to coordinate its activities. Bro. Isa Abanaba had also travelled to Europe and there was no praying centre established anywhere then.
The lull continued until sometimes in September 1980, when Engr. Abdul Ganiyu Bolanle Omokanye was employed by The Shell Petroleum Development Company, Warri. The young and vibrant Engr. Bola saw a daunting challenge for Islam in Warri.
According to Engineer Omonkanye, most of his friends initially were Christians and many challenged his reasons to being a Muslim. He had several debates with friends like Pastor/Elder Olumiluwa of Anglican Church Olu Palace and Ayo Ogunrinde. Many of them sincerely respected his views and used to refer to me whenever they needed to know more about Islam.
In Engr Bola’s words, “I soon got the awareness through the Amir, Ajmal Shahid in early or mid 1981 that some Ahmadi Muslims (Pakistanis) were living in Ughelli and a Maulvi was recently posted to Benin (Maulvi Hammed Ahmad Zafar). I started taking Friday off to either join Juma’at Service in Olori Estate at Ughelli (about 45 Km to Warri) or occasionally attend the service at Benin (100 Km away). Soon we organized members around Ughelli and more than 10 families attended first Eid-el-Fitri prayer in November 1982”.
THE RENEWED WARRI JAMA’AT 1983 – 1998:
Between 1983 and 1998, the Warri Jama’at started a new formative journey when Engineer Omokanye was directed from Lagos Headquarters to locate one Photographer (Mr. Isa Abanaba) at Okere/Ginuwa Junction. Brother Abanaba took up the challenge and introduced him to all the old members in town.
Engineer reported that they visited Alhaji. M.M. Sumaina of Chevron Nigeria Limited) and Mallam Jubril Ijeoma, in a short while Friday Juma’at prayers resumed at the Studio of Bro. Isa Abanaba to fully revived the Warri Jamaat.
Engr. Bola who later became the Naib Amir Eastern Region, also recalled that around 1984/85, Bro. Paxman Ekpuze, who benefited from the pamphlets authored by Dr. Bhutta of Ijebu-Ode Hospital and his enthusiasm spurred the Jama’at to various Tabligh activites including debates with Catholic Bishop at Ginuwa junction; Pastor Oritesjafor of Word of Life Bible Church; The Eckankah group; The Muslim Students Society of Warri; The Redemption Church; The Grail Message group and Hare Krishna Temple and many others.
Some debates were held in their respective temples and mission house, sometimes they were invited to Ahmadiyya centre and many Baiats were signed as a result of these efforts.
In 1991 the Jamaat purchased a land in the heart of Warri through the support and assistance from headquarters under the leadership of Ameer & Missionary In Charge, Late Maulana Abdur-Rasheed Ahmad Agboola Sahib. The mosque foundation was laid in 1993 by Late Maulana Agboola. The original design of the mosque by Architect Niyi Brimmo of Archiform, Benin was changed during the visit by Engineer. H.O. Sunmonu the then Amir to a storey building which we are all very proud of today.
It was completed in 2004. The following members played significant role in the completion of the project. They are Alhaji Bashir Ojoye, Bro. Tajudeen Onabanjo, Bro. Daood Molumo; Bro. Abdus-Salaam (Paxman) Ekpuze; Bro. Abdul Martin Ebojoh, Dr. Gani Enahoro, now a Naib Amir Eastern Region , Isa Abanaba and Muallim Mohammed Tirmizy Adeniran.
It is worth mentioning that the Wakariah team from Ilaro supported the project and Architect. Niyi Brimmo, the CEO of Archiform in Benin) did the architectural design free.
It is also significant note that the Architect Brimmo also contributed immensely to tabligh activities in Ughelli with the support of Mallam Haruna from Benin.
THE RENEWED WARRI JAMA’AT 1999 – 2007:
Brother Saka Abdullahi, Barrister A.Y. Abdullahi, Brotherr. Lukman Seriki, Lukman Oderinu, Yinka Jegede and Bashir Akharho displayed uncommon dedication and worked tirelessly to the progress of the Jamaat.
Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at Warri in the year 2004 resuscitated the inter-religious discussions with the aim of preaching religious tolerance in predominantly Christian society. The venue of the events was the Jamaat mosque. The following personalities participated in the dialoque. Thye were Reverend Jakpa Sylvanus, Mr. Victor Egeregor represented Ethereus Society, Mr Bibatsu Das stood in for The Hare Krishna while Mr. Edem Ukpong of Nitel represented the Rosicrucians.Dr. Gani Enahoro , Engineer Bola Omonkanye, Muallim Tirmizy Adeniran, Alhaji Wasiu Udi Barrister Abdullahi, and Brother. Paxman Abdus Salam Ekpuze who is a Christian convert and quite knowledgeable in Bible represented the Ahmadiyya Jamaat.
Extension of Warri Jama’at to the Neighbouring Towns:
OFAGBE CENTRAL MOSQUE:
Sometimes in 2003, Bro. Paxman Abdus Salam Ekpuze had successfully built a mosque in his hometown of Ofagbe in Isoko land of Delta State. This was the first mosque in the entire Isokoland and he called it Ofagbe Central Mosque, so that in his words “it could serve the interests of all Muslims in the neighbourhood, who were all non-Ahmadis and normadic Fulani herdsmen, who trek very long distances to congregate every Friday at such places as Olomoro, another Isoko town for Juma’at services”.
He approached a non-Ahmadi from among these people to head and resides in the mission house that was also built along with the mosque. This decision of his was at variance with the Jama’at policy. The Jama’at reasoned that, when a member builds a mosque, it should be donated to the Jama’at freely for continuous administration and serves the Tabligh purpose of spreading the message of Islam as well as propagates Ahmadiyyat.
In 2004, during the Northern farming season, when most Fulani Nomads usually travel home and coupled with the demise of the father of the Imam earlier appointed for the Ofagbe mosque, there was a compelling need to look for another head to keep Islamic activities going. It became quite easy for Bro. Paxman to donate the mosque to the Jama’at for continuous administration. This was immediately followed by the posting of Muallim Isiaq Abdullah to serve the Jama’at’s interest and propagate Ahmadiyyat. Enthusiastically, the Jama’at carried out elaborate Tabligh to the mosque during the Ramadan of 2005.
When eventually the former Imam returned, there was confusion as to how to administer the mosque. Bro. Paxman Ekpuze brought forth his suggestion that whereas the former Imam should revert to his leadership role, the Ahmadiyya Muallim should continue with further Tabligh duties and teaching of the youths. The Jama’at headquarters was inundated with these suggestions but frowned upon it, and had to withdraw the Muallim for other assignments elsewhere.
The non-Ahmadis freely continued their activities at Ofagbe mosque until 2006, when Brother Paxman offered through a letter to re-donate the mosque. The legal transfer has not been perfected up till the moment due to certain developments that had to do with the donor’s discontinued membership of the Jama’at for reasons not yet clear till now. As at today, the mosque does not belong to the Jama’at.
AHMADIYYA JAMA’AT AT OREROKPE
In the early part of the year 2004, Warri Jama’at discovered that a few Ahmadi Muslims resided in this town, which had fond memories of tabligh expeditions in the early seventies, during the days when Shakil Monir was there. But unlike those days, Orerokpe had now been made the headquarters of Okpe Local Government Area. These members often visited Warri and offered Juma’at Services in the mosque.
They were led by a mechanic called Bro. Abdul Jeleel Tijani, who later had to convert his workshop to a praying center. Soon, as the Jamaat noticed a large crowd of Muslims , a temporary mosques was erected.
To sustain the tempo on the activities, Alhaji Bola Omokanye and Brother Tajudeen Onabanjo were taking turns weekly to lead Juma’at congregation at the temporary site while pressing for formal posting of a Muallim from headquarters. The effort soon yielded fruits when headquarters seconded Muallim Ishaq Abdullah to Orerokpe in 2004. Warri Jama’at quickly arranged for 2-room accommodation for the Muallim in the heart of Orerokpe town for his comfort. Muallim Ishaq was later re-deployed and was replaced by Muallim Nuhu Abdusalaam.
The Jamaat requested the headquarters for assistance towards a permanent place of worship, when hostile attitude of land owners was noticed at the praying centre
Undaunted, we continued an aggressive search for a plot of land to buy, while we impressed on the Headquarters the need to fund the project. Due to certain budgetary constraints, the Headquarters was unable to provide the funds for the plot, but agreed to give Warri Jama’at, a loan deductible at source from the normal retention fees accruable to us. We agreed and had the sum of N350, 000 approved. In the last quarter of 2005 a piece of land was purchased whereby a temporary structure was erected as the new praying centre.
Other prominent members of the Jamaat were Brothers Abdulmatin Ebojoh and family, Alhaji Wasiu Udi and Isiak Enajemo.
CALABAR MISSION: 1971
THE ORIGIN of Calabar Mission was woven around a Central Mosque built and used by Yoruba Muslims living in Calabar before the 1967-70, Civil War. During the civil war, the Yorubas fled Calabar and the Apostolic (Aladura) sect of Christians took over the Mosque for worship.
After the civil war in 1970 a Calabar Muslim indigene from the North, Mallam Musa Ekpenyong, who associated himself with the Yoruba Muslims felt aggrieved with the situation whereby the Christians converted the Muslim Mosque to a Christian church. He then sought the assistance of the Nigerian Army Imam in person of Major G. M. Bello based in Calabar to reclaim the Mosque. The Mosque was vacated by the Christians and the Muslims started to observe Jumah and daily prayers. The small and weak Muslim Community then decided to invite the support of Muslim sects in the country.
Letters were written to various sects. One Bro. Hamed Oladimeji was the one who travelled to Oke-Ado in Ibadan to obtain Ahmadiyya addresses. Of all the letters written to various sects, it was reported that only Ahmadiyya responded to the call of the small Muslim Community in Calabar.
Ahmadiyya headquarters in Lagos in their response sent Alhaji Baidhu B. Balogun of blessed memory and Bro. Zakariya A. Junaid to Calabar. They arrived there on Monday March 1, 1971 and stayed for one week. On Monday August 16, 1971 another delegation was sent by the Ahmadiyya Headquarters. They included Muallim Abdul Azeez Jamiu Jamalu-Deen Bada, Alfa Misbaud-Deen Akanji Salman, Alfa Dauda Ibrahim and Alfa Misbau-Deen Tola Kareem. Bro. Tola Kareem remained behind. In 1972, Alhaji Ibrahim Bichi of blessed memory was instructed by Headquarters to visit Calabar and preach to the Hausa Muslim Community there.
In January 1974 Muallim Abdul Qadiri Enikannaiye succeeded Alfa Tola Kareem who left in December 1973. Alhaji Abdul Ganiyu A. Daramola became the Missionary from Tuesday, April 1, 1973 to 1983 after Muallim Enikannaiye left in March 1975. Alhaji Daramola left in 1983 but returned and was there 1985 up to March 1988. Alhaji Salaud-Deen A. Ahmad also took charge of Calabar Mission for some period in 1983. Thereafter Alhaji A. G. A. Daramola was deployed from Kaduna again to Calabar, he remained there from October 1985 to March 1988. Thereafter other missionaries have been sent there till date.
IMOSAN-IJEBU MISSION: 1971
THE founding fathers of Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission, Imosan-Ijebu were indigenes of the town who lived outside the town and had accepted Ahmadiyya elsewhere. These pioneers included the late Bro. Khalil Idris, the late Bro. M.O. T. Hassan, Bros. Buari Rufai, Amide Ogunlase and Alhaji Rasheed Akeju. They established the Mission around 1971.
The house of late Bro. M. O. T. Hassan was used as Mosque while the Jum’ah (Friday) and Eid Prayers were observed at Ijebu Ode. Imosan Ijebu Mission built its own Central Mosque in 1973 and can currently boast of hundreds of members from a humble beginning of a handful of members.
Imosan Ijedu community donated several acres of land to Ahmadiyya Jama’at in 1973 for the purpose of erecting a high school and hospital. It was not until 1979 that Ahmadiyya Jama’at was able to build a hospital at Imosan. Before this time, Imosan community had withdrawn half of the donated land out of disappointment. The hospital was however officially declared open by the then Governor of Ogun State, Chief Olabisi Onabanjo on 17th of June, 1980.
INISHA MISSION: 1971
THE Jama’at was introduced by Bro. Usman Okunoye, who had signed Baiat during his sojourn in Ghana. When he returned to his home town, he started preaching Ahmadiyya to his friends and relatives. In August, 1971, his efforts started yielding results as the indigenes started signing the Baiat.
The young community was visited on different occasions by Muallim Abdul Azeez Jamiu Jamalud-Deen Bada of Ado-Ekiti, Alfa M. S. Bello of Oshogbo and Mr. Dauda Aborisade. Maulana F.I. Anweri Sahib visited the Mission on January 17, 1972 in response to an invitation from the Olu-Inisha, who wished to donate land to the Jama’at for some of its educational and medical projects. Some parcels of land was actually given by the Olu-Inisha.
The local Jama’at was assisted by the Headquarters to build its Mosque. Indeed, the Amir of the time, Maulana Ajmal Shahid personally performed the foundation laying ceremony on 16th June 1974 and posted a Missionary, Alfa Mustapha Karama-Deen for the religious guidance of the young community.
SOKOTO MISSION: 1971
THE emergence of Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission in Sokoto was linked with the Pakistani Ahmadis who lived and worked in Sokoto as well as the establishement of an Ahmadiyya Secondary School in Gusau.
Prominent among such Pakistani Ahmadi Muslim pioneers were Bros. Abdul Majeed Bhatti, Muhammad Yakub Khan and the Ahmadiyya School teachers in persons of Bros. Idris Suleiman Izuagbe and Mohammed Ismail Wasim (Principal).
Bro. Khan especially spearheaded the efforts to establish the branch Mission in Sokoto. He demonstrated high integrity and sound leadership when he was the Chairman and Financial Secretary of the Mission. Another prominent member was Bro. A.O. Fadipe who championed the cause of the Mosque building fund. Prayers are observed in private residences as funds were not yet adequate for contructing a befitting Mosque.
The strength of the Jama’at has sinced increased till date with the presence of a mosque in the town.
AKURE MISSION: 1972
By the grace of Allah the Jama’at of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission, Akure, Ondo State started fully in 1972, by Muallim Abdul Jamiu Jamalud-Deen Bada.
The foundation membes of the Jama’at included: Brothers J.J. Junaid, Olaifa, Durojaiye, Hussain Oyedokun, Banjo, Akintobi, Bayewu Muhammad Uthman, Nurudeen Junaid and Madam Nimota Popoola.
Juma’at services began beside a storey building at Arakal Street adjacent to the Isikan Palace, Akure. Later, a shop was used as a palace of worship for some years before the Central Mosque was built at Okuta-Elerinla at Oralepo layout in front of Police Force Headquarters, Akure.
IKOYI MISSION: 1972
IKOYI – Oyo near Ogbomosho, The branch of Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission in Ikoyi –Oyo was an off-shoot of Oyo Mission. It was established by two young men of Ikoyi origin namely: Brothers O.S. Alausa and G.A. Salami in 1972.
The first set of converts were Brothers Iliasu Ajala and Yusuf Alade. Later, friends from other areas of the town joined the Jamaat .They were Brothers Salawu Amoo, late Jimoh Ishola, Karimu Adisa,late Saka Ishola , Momodu Ajani, Kadri Ajadi, Salimonu Ajadi and Sulaimona Akande.
Others were Chief S.I. Adesina (Balogun of Ikoyi), Brothers Ismaila Akande, G. A Salami, Azeez Alao and Pa Oseni Koseni-Agauwu can never be forgotten in the history of Ikoyi mission, because of their fatherly support towards the success of the Ahmadiyya Jama’at in Ikoyi.
Pa Oseni donated money and land for the Ahmadiyya Mosque.
IJEBU-IGBO MISSION: 1973
The nucleus of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Jamaat in Ijebu-Igbo, was the Islahudeen Society founded in 1970 by Alhaji S. Akeukanwo Akeusola; Alhaji M. Adekunle Ismaeel; Alhaji L. O. Balogun and Late A. F. Sanni.
On the 26 September, 1973, fresh election were held during which the following people were elected: Alhaji M. A. Bello, late Babasola Sanni; late A. F. Sanni; Alhaji S. Akin Sulaiman Nagode; Alhaji S. Akeukanno Akeusola Chief Imam and Alhaji M. Adekunle Ismaeel Preacher.
The first Missionary posted to Ijebu Igbo was Alfa Abdul Azeez Akinrinmola Ben Sallah. On 28 September, 1973, the first Jumah Service was held and led by Chief Imam Alhaji Akeukanwo Akeusola. Later acres of land inherited by late Babasola Sanni was donated for the new mosque.
Between August 13 and 23rd September, 50 people signed the Biat . They were Alhaji S. A. Akeusola, Alhaji M. A. Ismaeel, Alhaji L. O. Balogun, late Alfa A. F. Sanni, late Bro. M.B. Sanni, Alhaji M. A. Bello, Alhaji L. A. T. Adeleye, Alhaji S. Akin Sulaiman, Bro. S. Ayinde Sulaiman, Alhaji A. A. Bello and Alhaji Y. M. Otun. Others were Alhaji Ganiyu Salami, Alhaji S. Kazeem, Brothers Late Omo Oba, N. Kilo, R. A. Obagun, Kabiru Aruna, M. Lawal, A. G. Saibu, S. Olu Otubu, Alhaji Mr. Asete, Alhaji Amusa Adeeko, late Gafari Jeje, late Alhaji S. Mayabikan, Safiu Kareem Berber, Alhaji Yisa Giwa, late Basiru Asekun,Asimiyu Adeyemi; Alhaji Adefolarin Saka, Alhaji R. A. Kaka, Bros. Salisu Okunubi, S. Adeyemi, Aileru Arobonto, G. Arobonto, Tijani Ayodeji Okeowo.
Others included Ramoni Adeyemi, L. Omo Oba, Safuwa Omo Oba, Alhaji T. Olomoyoyo, Tijani Adeeko Bello, Fatai Olomoyoyo, S. Sule, S. Ajibise, Tiamiyu Salau, L. Bello, M. Jagun, R. Olomoyoyo, Akeula Mustapha, Alhaji S.A Ibrahim and Rasidi Adeyemi.
ODO-ONA MISSION: 1974
Odo Ona Mission was founded in 1974 with the following members Dauda Aborisade, Wahab Soretire and Hakeem Aborisade.
Originally, the members congregated in a room offered by Bro. Soretire at Akako, Odo-Ona for observing daily prayers. After sometime, an abandoned Apostolic Church building was acquired at a cost of N350.00 in 1980. This was re-constructed on 2nd March, 1980. As at 1988, there are three other zonal Mosques in different locations of Odo-Ona village, namely: Oju Irin, Koole and Oke Ayo. Members started to conduct the Friday Service in the Akako Mosque on 1st October, 1984.
ILASE MISSION: 1974
Brother Bashirudeen Lawal and Alfa Hassan created a base for Ahmadiyya in Ilase near Ile-Ife, Osun State by renting a two-room apartment there. Late Pa Oluwa in Ile-Ife gave them the money for one year rent in advance. Because of conspiracies by neighbours against Ahmadi Muslims using the rented apartment, the small group of Ahmadi Muslims decided that they must ensure that an Ahmadiyya Mosque was built in Ilase instead of using a private house not belonging to the Jama’at.
Bro. Bashirudeen Lawal, Rasheed Ilesanmi and Bayo Fagbolade did the spade work is scouting for land. Having found a suitable piece of land, the group called a meeting of Ilase indigenes based mainly in Ibadan who were members of Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at .
A request was forwarded to the then Amir to give them a Missionary. On January 10, 1986,Missionary Misbahudeen Adewale was posted from Lagos. He was accompanied by Maulvi Mughni from Osogbo and Alfa Hassan from Ile-Ife.
The foundation of the Mosque was laid in January, 1987 by the then Acting Amir, Maulvi Muhammad Anwar Qureshi accompanied by Alhaji Muhammad B. A. Ameen. Prominent members of Ahmadiyya all over Southern Nigeria were also present.
AKWANGA NASARAWA 1974:
The seed of Ahmadiyya was planted in Akwanga in the early 70s. by late Engineer Amjad Khan a Pakistani Ahmadi working with the Ministry of Works in the then Benue-Plateau State of Nigeria. He was then assigned to construct the Keffi – Akwanga water dam .
In 1974, he bought 5.3 Acres of land in Akwanga in the name of Ahmadiyya. He also built a small Mosque on the land where he and those attached to him used for prayers. However Late Engineer Amjad Khan died in 1980 as a martyr. He was drowned while performing his duty! After his death, the Jos Jama’at, prominently, Alhaji A.R. Ayilara and Bro. A.W. Akinsanya continued wetting the seed planted so that the land would not be revoked.
There was nothing significantly done on the land until Oct. 2002 when Maullim. Isa E. Bello was transferred to Akwanga as a Missionary for the protection and development of the land and also to establish a Jama’at in the erea. As Allah willed, in April 2003, there was a mass conversion and the head count of those that signed Baiat at that time was more than a thousand.
In March 2004, based on the development of the area, the then Amir Alhaji M.M. Maishanu laid the foundation stone of a big Mosque that could accommodate more than six hundred worshippers at a time. Due to the geographical location of the land, within a short time, both Ahmadis and non-Ahmadis support the building of the Mosque to a sizable level.
In Dec. 2005, Maulvi A.W. Abid was posted to Akwanga. Coincidently, in Aug. 2006 the Nasarawa Circuit was created with Akwanga as the headquarters.
ANDUN JAMA’AT 1974:
A new Jama’at was also established in Andun through intensive Tabligh activities by Brothers Idris B. Musa Mallam Dahiru Idris, Mall. Haruna Musa , Alhaji Musa Maikeffi.