Islamic Medical Association of South Africa – About IMA

 In the  early 1970’s, a few Muslim doctors, noting with concern the disparate health services under the Apartheid government of South Africa, embarked upon the establishment of the modest Sunday clinic at Braemar on the South Coast of Natal. This was to cater for the needs of a black rural community which had virtually no access to any form of health services. The initial name of the group was “Lajnatul Atibba” (Doctors Committee) and it served as the forerunner for the formation of the IMA in 1980.

The aims and objectives of the IMA which were formulated in 1980 are listed below:

  • To promote a better understanding and appreciation of Islam and of Medicine within the framework of Islam.
  • To constantly remind and educate the Muslim health care professionals of the Islamic value, morality, etiquette and ethics and to apply these in the health care sector.
  • To promote professional and non-professional contact among Muslim health care professionals at all levels through activities such as meetings, dinners, seminars, guest speakers and conventions.
  • To seek affiliation to medical institutions through professional co-operation.
  • To co-operate with other organizations on matters of mutual interest.
  • To orientate health education with Islamic values and outlook in the application of patient care.
  • To promote research and publications in the field of Islamic medical history, prophetic medicine, Islamic medical ethics and Medicine in general from the Islamic viewpoint.
  • To be a mercy unto mankind in the Prophetic tradition by providing necessary assistance within our scope and capability and whatever needed in the form of clinics, relief work and rehabilitation.
  • To co-ordinate the relevant group and individual activities of Muslim health care professionals.
  • To have a central information bureau as a service to the members regarding employment opportunities, exchange programmes, scholarship and graduate and under-graduate training opportunities.
  • To establish libraries for the use of the members and others who may wish to use them

IMASA NEC  BANKING  DETAILS

Bank:                First National Bank                        

Branch:            Fordsburg Branch code:  252505

Acct name:       IMA

Acct no:            62000952061

IMA   REGISTRATION  AS

PUBLIC BENEFIT ORGANISATION (PBO) 

 IMA and  TAX EXEMPTION

IMA is primarily a professional body that serves its members and also undertakes activities that benefit the poor and needy. For any Non Profit Organisation to take advantage of the tax incentives offered by government it has to formally apply for tax exemption with SARS to get a Public Benefit Organisation (PBO) status.

 Being a professional body,  IMA cannot be exempt from tax as a PBO. The rules relating to the tax exemption of professional bodies are different from  those applicable to an NGO e.g. a welfare body. As these have not been passed by the Minister of Finance we have applied for IMA to become a PBO..

 In order to get the PBO status IMA’s Constitution has to meet certain requirements, hence,  the attached amendment.

 Benefits Of IMA Becoming A Tax Exempt Body

 IMA would save the following:

·        40 per cent Income Tax on any income given to it where that income was claimed by the giver as a tax deduction;

 ·        8 per cent Transfer Duty on properties bought by IMA to further its objectives;

 ·        20 per cent Donations Tax on any cash or property donated by IMA ;

 ·         the monthly 1 per cent Skills Development Levy (SDL).

 DONORS save:

 ·        20 per cent Donations Tax on any cash or property donated to IMA;

·        A Testator saves 20 per cent Estate Duty on bequests to IMA.

 ·        10 per cent Capital Gains Tax (CGT) on property donated to IMA.  

I

 

Republic of South Africa by the IMA of South Africa

The Islamic Medical association is a non-governmental organization (NGO) comprising Muslim health professionals. Over the last 25 years we have been actively involved in the development and provision of health care services to indigent populations in South Africa. We have also been actively involved in the provision of medical relief – in Africa and elsewhere in the developing world.

 Having read with great interest the draft charter on the public and private sectors in South Africa we would like to offer some comments. We agree with the need for transformation of the health sector so as to develop a service that is of a high standard, equitable to all populations and race groups, accessible and appropriate to the needs of our country. We agree with the challenges facing the health care sector as presented in the charter. We however, would respectfully like to highlight some of our major concerns: 

  1. The important role of NGOs has not been mentioned in the charter. These organizations often act as a bridge between private and public sectors. The IMA and other organizations have done much work in providing clinical services in under-resourced communities. They should be assisted in infrastructure development, training of staff, procurement of equipment and medication at tender prices so that their contribution can be optimized. Financial assistance to these organizations should be made available to those organizations which display good governance.
  2. A concerted effort, not limited to but involving the health sector, needs to be made to minimize systematic inefficiencies and unnecessary bureaucracy. Corruption must not be tolerated.
  3. Structures should be put in place, that provide an enabling environment to facilitate joint public-private initiatives. This may include incentives for private sector involvement. 
  4. The process of transformation will be enhanced by the avoidance of unjustified and generalized negative criticism and over regulation of the private sector. Instead the Department of health should endeavour to engage the private sector and other sectors in a constructive way. This draft charter is an example of constructive engagement.
  5. The pharmaceutical industry needs to be engaged by all concerned in an effort to decrease the high costs of medicines in this country.
  6. Novel strategies to retain highly skilled professionals, especially nurses need to be developed. Health professionals need to be given incentives to remain in the areas of the system where they would be most valuable. Health care providers need to feel a sense of pride in the quality of the service they are allowed to deliver. They must be allowed to take ownership of this sector. Too often these undervalued ‘frontline’ workers are disempowered by a lack of resources.
  7. Given the experiences to date with Black Economic Empowerment, we propose that the current processes governing BEE be reviewed such that the majority benefits rather than the elite few.

 Finally, we as the IMA feel that we have already been playing an important role in the development of certain key aspects of health care delivery to disadvantaged sectors of our community. We have been previously acknowledged by government for contributing to delivery of primary health care to rural communities. We, therefore, look forward to being invited to contribute to the future development of this health charter as well as to the health care sector in general.

 Yours sincerely

Dr Shoyab Wadee

Executive Secretary

DEVELOPMENT

The first IMA Convention was held from 14-15 March 1981 at the Natal Medical School and served as the forum for the official launch of the IMA. During the past 17 years, the IMA has grown to become a successful, dynamic and respected organization in South Africa. Its current membership stands at 1300 with 20 branches countrywide. The IMA of South Africa also played a pivotal role in bringing about the formation of the Federation of Islamic Medical Associations (FIMA) in December 1981.

CURRENT ACTIVITIES

Due to the commitment of its members, the IMA of South Africa continues to be a vital and relevant organization both locally and internationally. Its many activities include the running of primary health care clinics throughout South Africa, relief work within South Africa as well as in countries such as Mozambique, Afghanistan and Somalia, publications in general concerning Medicine and Islam, and on specific issues relating to medical ethics and the Islamic viewpoint and annual conventions to stimulate research and the pursuit of academic excellence.

CONCLUSION

The courage, conviction and vision of the founding members of the IMA of South Africa has seen the organization develop from a group of concerned health care workers to a well organized professional, non-governmental body providing health to disadvantaged communities, while at the same time actively involved in the propagation of Islam and the promotion of Islamic ethics amongst its members.

This piece is taken from the website of the Islamic Medical Association of South Africa.

See on-line at: http://www.ima.org.za/

4 thoughts on “Islamic Medical Association of South Africa – About IMA

  1. svannah ryan

    heya I am doing a school project on your site. and am needing to have contact details please considering to put contact details on your site.

    Reply
  2. Nuha Dafaalla

    Dear Sir/Madam

    I demonstrated a number of African refugees in Australia we need help. Urgent Help especially the international Organizations seem to not care about our compliant. We need your help.
    the story started in 2004.However on Sep.2004 I fell sick and like other Australians I went through the health system to be cured, but that did not happened at all.
    I suffered a lot of repeating different medicines for months which did not do any better. After that hard time I had from the family doctors, finally I was referred to: Concord Hospital (Hospital Road NSW 2139. by Dr.Lee from Ashfield Medical Centre, 349 Liverpool Road Ashfield NSW on 14 March 2005 regarding to the bladder problem.
    On 11 Apr.2005 the Hospital mentioned above made an operation on me without any proper checking or even to notify me of that operation all I had been told about was a test by camera take 15 minutes. I trusted that hospital
    after that operation Concord Hospital determined that my bladder was normal as well as my all organs, to know that I was on the waiting list for Uterus Operation on other hospital named as: Canterbury Hospital (Canterbury Road Campsie NSW when Concord Hospital claimed no any problem found.
    After that operation on 11 Apr.2005 which took 3 hours I had severe bleeding and chronic pains.
    I went back to that hospital for help but the hospital’s responding was I should wait for more than a week if no improvement happen I can come back again to the hospital ,and that what happened I went back to the hospital on 19 Apr.2005 but the hospital requested an appointment to see me which took a month. On that appointment I saw Dr.Bromage who said to me that he did every things he could to help me and he believed that my health was getting better. I could not believe anything like that would happened to anyone
    I remained suffering until 30 Jan.2006 and that Hospital was totally ignoring my complaints through the phone or visits.
    On 13 Apr.2006 I had the Uterus Operation at Auburn Hospital: Norval street Auburn NSW 2144.by Dr.Saleh who claimed that it was Polyps Operation.
    The calamity which made me felt of strong persecution the intensive bleeding I had for more than 3 months since(13 Apr.2006 until 20 Jul.2006) but the Auburn responded that my Uterus had been cut from inside and they could not stitched. I asked for that operation report from Auburn Hospital but the hospital refused to give me the report. After that Dr. Selah resigned and Auburn Hospital claimed no one knew where he was.
    I tried to get help from Prince of Wales Hospital: suite 23, level 7 Barker street Randwick NSW 2031.on 23 May2006 by Dr.Stuart Ehsman who said that was no any medical problem found after Dr.Chung informed me that he did cystoscopy test and he found irritation on the left side of my bladder. When I requested written report from Prince of Wales Hospital, it was a huge contradiction of what Dr.Chung and Dr.Stuart Ehsman diagnosed .the report from Prince of Wales Hospital claimed that were mild inflammation on the middle of my bladder and did not need medication.
    I tried after that to find a solicitor to assist me to process the case but no one helped me. I made a complaint to: United Nation for Human Rights Geneva on 6 Jun.2006 and was rejected by UN for Human Rights Geneva. On 10 Jun.2006 my flat had been broken and damage had been occurred. I called the police for help on 10 Jun.2006 regarding the broke-in my flat:6/61 Palace street Ashfiel NSW 2131.Atfert hours of that call The police came to my flat as mentioned above but The Police instead to assist me I had been detained at Mental Hospital by The Police Force on 10 Jun.2006
    I had been detained at Rozelle Hospital (Mental Hospital) head office: Liverpool Hospital (Eastern Campus) Elizabeth street Liverpool.
    I was forced to take different medicine for different type of diseases it had been given to me by force and threat, and ham & Pork were provided to my meal on special tray sealed by my name. I continued to complaint to the nurses but the Hospital’s kitchen alleged there was no ham or pork. My health condition was deteriorated. I was released on 30 Jun.2006.
    The Croydon Community Health Service chased me to take the medication every day. I kept struggling to find the way for help. I looked and asked for a doctor had conscience and heart I was very close to death than life.
    Finally I had been admitted at Sydney Private Hospital: 63 Victoria Street Ashfield NSW 2131. By Dr.Mitterdoufer on 28 Jul.2006. Dr.Mitterdoufer reported that no any medical problem found while I was crying of that horrible pain.
    I could not find any way to be saved and cured and relieved except to travel to another country which was not easy.
    I held the suffering and pain until I had the treatment in Cairo-Egypt by the Urologist Nabil Shariff Clinic: 27 Hassan Akbar street Medan Bab Elkhalg Cairo. on 28 Sep.2006.I thought I could follow the treatment in Australia after the little funds I had was finished and Dr. Shariff requested more examinations for my Uterus. The report by Dr.Shariff had been documented by The Foreign ministry in Cairo-Egypt.
    I came back to Australia by 20 Oct.2006 to have equal and normal life and follow my treatment and to be treated by respect.
    The doctors in Australia claimed that report from Cairo by Dr. Shariff was insufficient and denied the treatment.
    I complaint to Anti discrimination Board of New South Wales: PO Box A2122 Sydney south NSW 1235. On 14 Dec.2006 and was rejected by Anti discrimination Board of NSW.
    On 13 Feb.2007 I processed the matter to The Supreme Court of NSW: Law Building/Queen Square, level 5, 184 Phillip street Sydney 2000.Case No: 020175/07.but the delaying by the solicitor who was representative me legally was incredible. The justice became blind and incapable to justify the wrong. I can say justice would never exist under dictatorship system such as the Australia has. I had been asked to pay the cost to the defendants, I’ve been asked to pay for the pain I suffered off for years. The justice had been lost on the middle of the worse crime in human. The torture was by any possible way at the middle of the community on the day light faced with silence form that community.
    On 19 Jul.2007 I travelled to U.A.E Dubai to have the treatment. On 29 Jul.2007 I had an operation as well on 10 Aug.2007 another operation at Iranian Red Crescent, Iranian Hospital Dubai: PO Box 2330.The doctors from Dubai asked to follow 6 months treatment in Australia.
    I went back to Australia on 24 Aug.2007 but the doctors in Australia again denied the 6 months treatment.
    I struggled to get the medication in Australia, I tried to get the public support by TVs and Newspapers in Sydney and other states even Aljazeera TV, but all the attempts ended with failure. I felt like I live in a big community but I was alone. The big country I live in one of the developed country in the world but I cannot have the medication or to live normally without pain or suffers or even my right to have work had been denied. I sometimes believe that the words of justice or human rights or equality have no existence in this world.
    The Australia Government prevented me of doing my business and suspended my driving license, the last case suppose to be submitted in court had been dismissed illegally.
    On 26 Aug.2008 I travelled to Switzerland-Geneva First to complete the treatment and to complaint to the UN for Human Rights. The Disaster was the UN for Human Rights Geneva returned the file of complaint which lodged on 9 Sep.2008 the reason was the complaint not written properly to know that the formula of complaint was given by the same office of the UN. However I was afraid of other excuse from the UN so I saw a solicitor regarding that complaint and there was no any wrong. I returned the file of complaint to UN for Human Right on 22 Oct.2008 and I was surprised that the UN sent the file of my complaint to Australia Sydney while I was in Geneva and provided all my contact details in Geneva. The complaint to UN had been rejected. I was very stressful physically and emotionally not because of the rejections from the most Organization in Geneva but I was humiliated in France as well after a woman from Algeria tried to help me while my health condition was worsen and all the doors were closed at me in Switzerland and France she tried to help by using her health card insurance to buy the medication for me, she bought the medicine but the social assistant in France “la Miason Coluche, 12 Rue de Nagociorts 74100 Amblilly France where I used to stay , that social assistant threated me and threw the medication in the bin and took my things out to the street and closed the door at me while it was raining and night time and I had no place to go and I was very sick. The social assistants at France knew that I came from Australia to get the treatment, but he and his colleagues seemed not to be care especially after Ambilly’s Hospital refused to help me.
    I tried to speak to the media in Switzerland and France I sent my story by fax ,e-mail and through the mail ,but the responses I had was very disappointed .I wrote to a big number of the Newspaper in Europe no one response to me or paid attention to my tragedy. The word of democracy in Europe has no meaning I still cannot believe why I could not get help from the Hospitals in Switzerland or France. I do not know what kind of world that we live in now. I am travelling from continent to another year after year to have medication. As it happened in Europe it was human crisis .I am very shocked of what happening and the System in Australia or in Europe has no different of torturing and abusing people. The democracy and the free speech are fabricated policy. I am not the only one from my community in Australia who suffers from the same kind of treatment with the health system but I am the first one try to get the justice of that horrible crime in human. After all I came back to Australia on 7 Nov.2008 without any help. But the police in Australia arrested me and beat me to death I left Australia to Africa but of my political issue I return back to Australia where I had been targeted by the police heavily I Travelled to Venezuela since 21.7.2010 to seek help for me and others refugees in Australia

    I would ask your kindness to assist me to publish this story. I thank everybody gives time to review the outline of this ordeal.
    Nuha Ibrahim Dafaalla Tel: 58+4122499600

    Reply
  3. shobi80

    Asalamo alikum , how are u ,i am Sohaib Ahmad, i am in malaysia.
    I do all kind of Urdu ,Arabic, English typing . I have 4 years experience of all kind of data typing.
    INSHALLAH u will find satisfaction in my work.
    salam

    sohaib ahmad
    0060126270197

    Reply

Leave a Reply

