Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at Nigeria: Ahmadiyya Schools Across the Country

Presently all primary schools established under the Tahrik-i-Jadid have been taken over by the respective state governments.  The schools are generally known as Fazl-i-Omar Primary Schools.  There are quite a number of them in Lagos, Ogun, Oyo and Kwara States.

The secondary schools spread all over the country by 1989 numbered at least eleven.  Seven of them have been taken over by the respective state governments leaving four in the control of the Nusrat Jehan Scheme of the Jama’at.

The four secondary schools directly under Jama’at control as at 1989 are described below:

Established January 1970, the pioneer Principal was Mr. R. Saqib a dedicated missionary teacher from Pakistan who arrived March 1, 1970.  The Principal had been manning the school creditably since then.  The school has become well established and it was approved within four years of its existence.  The school’s  popularity  in the areas of sports and academic  are quite remarkable. The has led to the school   being reffered to  simply as “Ahmadiyya”.
Umaisha was a very rural and remote area where no voluntary organization was interested in establishing secondary schools.  The place was infested with mosquitoes and lacked all amenities.  Yet Jama’at Ahmadiyya through dedicated members established the college in 1973.  Prominent among those who sacrificed for its establishment was Alhaji A. Q. A. Matajo who directed the construction work and the pioneer Principal, Brother Irfan Sadiq.
The establishment of the two schools was sequel to the efforts of a former Deputy Governor of Plateau State, Alhaji Yakubu Danladi who approached Ahmadiyya Jama’at for assistance in establishing Muslim oriented secondary schools.  Specifically he requested the Jama’at to establish the schools at Ara and Onda respectively.  The Jama’at rose to the occasion and the formal opening of the two schools took place consecutively on March 16 and 17, 1981 under the Chairmanship of the Amir Maulana M. A. Shahid supported by eminent guests including top government functionaries and traditional Chiefs.  The Pioneer Principal at Ara was Mubarak Ali Tahir and that of Onda was Abdullah Tahir both dedicated Missionary teachers from Pakistan.
The secondary schools taken over by various state governments include:
• Ahmadiyya Secondary School Minna (Niger State).
• Ahmadiyya Secondary School Ayegunle Gbede (Kogi State)
• Ahmadiyya Secondary School Ago Iwoye (Ogun State)
• Ahmadiyya Secondary School Ogbagi Akoko (Ondo State)
• Ahmadiyya Secondary School Owo (Ondo State)
• Ahmadiyya Secondary School Oni (Ogun State)
• Ahmadiyya Girls Secondary School Gussau (Sokoto State).
When the schools were being taken over, the Christian religious organizations demanded heavy compensation from the state governments and requested their dedicated teachers to withdraw from the schools so taken over.  However, Jama’at Ahmadiyya neither demanded nor received any compensation in respect of its schools.  Their dedicated teachers were also requested to continue their dedicated services to the respetive state governments in those schools.  This gesture impressed the then North-Western State Government where two Ahmadiyya Schools at Minna and Gusau were taken over.

This piece is taken from the website of Ahmadiyya Muslim Jama’at Nigeria.

See on-line at: http://www.ahmadiyyang.org/achiev-schools.php


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s